Caribbean Sweet Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
LOVE IT.. My husband and I fell in love with this.. I replaced cilantro for parsley as I'm not a big fan of cilantro.. I also used 2 tbsp of olive oil and one tbsp vegatable oil.. Turned out GREAT.. A definite keeper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I really liked this recipe and will definately make again. I've made it 3 times already. I did not add the corn the first time. It adds an extra sweetness that the salad is lacking if you don't put it in. I used whole mustard all three times- my preference and I think it was great. The only other thing I've added to the recipe that it did not call for is some ground red pepper (1/3 tsp). The first two times it seemed to need a little more zing so I added the red pepper for a little zing. That's what it was missing to make a perfect salad for me- the red pepper balances the sweet ingredients in the recipe. The peanuts add a lot to the recipe. If you make it without the peanuts please note that you are reviewing a completely different tasting dish when you leave out the peanuts (and actually any other ingredients). It's a 5 * when I added the red pepper. But it was great enough exactly as is that I made it 3 times so just that gives it a 5 * as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bertram, Texas, USA
Living In: Spicewood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I cooked the two kinds of potatoes separately, and this worked out well. I cut fresh sweet corn from the cob instead of using frozen. I seeded and diced up the cucumber, and I didn't add the peanuts because I didn't have any. This is delicious and it had plenty of sauce, the only thing I would change is to just use all sweet potatoes instead of half white and half sweet. It was very fresh-tasting, even the next day, and it's healthy. Served with the Jamaican Jerked Chicken and Mango Salsa from this site. Very nice meal on a summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Great texture, beautiful colors, and wonderful flavors...this potato salad has it all. I was curious about the combination of mustard, cilantro and peanuts since they are all strong. The result is really sensational. Give this a try for a really different change from run of the mill potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
YUM!!! This is amazing! To begin with I couldn't really imagine how these flavors would come together, but they work wonderfully together. I made some modifications based on other reviews and personal preferences. For starters, I used yukon gold potatoes and yams and I cooked them in separate pots. For the dressing, I used 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil and 1 tablespoon of olive oil instead of 3 tablespoons of canola (just don't like canola oil.) I added a bit of extra lime juice to replace the other tablespoon of oil and I used bold and spicy mustard. Also, I used celery instead of cucumber (just happened to have it in the fridge), only used 1/4 cup of chopped red onion and forgot to add the corn! I was going to use a can of corn instead of fresh and just forgot all about it. The recipe turned out amazing regardless! I will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This a wonderful recipe! After reading the other reviews I, as many already have, altered a few things which I think make it taste even better! I used far more potatoes than called for as I assumed that two large potatoes would be less than sufficient in feeding a large group of people. Secondly, I added about three TBSP's of curry powder and honey. I also doubled all the other dressing ingredients. This made an AWESOME dressing! I will definitely make it again and have to say that the curry made all the difference for me...if you like that sorta thing ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This potato salad is beautiful and delicious. I assembled the night BEFORE the party and found the next day, I needed a smidge more dressing. On the second day dressing, I used only lime juice, mustard, s&p and a few drops of oil... This was excellent. I used salted crushed peanuts and it made all the difference (without it, I would have had to add more salt to the salad). I have to admit, this was the prettiest dish on the table! And although I doubled the recipe, this was the first bowl emptied! Great summer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDNICONNALLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
A very delightful recipe. i didn't realize that it didn't ask for mayonnaise and it tasted great without it. However, we were in the mood for a mayonnaise based potato salad, so I added 1/2 cup and it tasted wonderful with it too! I omitted the onions. Wonderful recipe, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Yum, yum, yum!!! Oh, and did I mention that it is yummy? I made this last night to have for dinner tonight and almost ate the entire bowel last night. I was concerned that there was not enough dressing, but it is just the right amount. I held back half the onions also and used can corn and it was still great. What I love is that you can taste each ingredient without being overpowered by the dressing!!! And I have to admit I LOVE anything with cilantro!!!! Perfect for Florida and the dog days of summer!!! Thank you for sharing this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
My family loved it! Even my 2 yr old and 12 month old. I did use olive oil instead of the other oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States