Caribbean Sweet Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I cooked the two kinds of potatoes separately, and this worked out well. I cut fresh sweet corn from the cob instead of using frozen. I seeded and diced up the cucumber, and I didn't add the peanuts because I didn't have any. This is delicious and it had plenty of sauce, the only thing I would change is to just use all sweet potatoes instead of half white and half sweet. It was very fresh-tasting, even the next day, and it's healthy. Served with the Jamaican Jerked Chicken and Mango Salsa from this site. Very nice meal on a summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Great texture, beautiful colors, and wonderful flavors...this potato salad has it all. I was curious about the combination of mustard, cilantro and peanuts since they are all strong. The result is really sensational. Give this a try for a really different change from run of the mill potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
YUM!!! This is amazing! To begin with I couldn't really imagine how these flavors would come together, but they work wonderfully together. I made some modifications based on other reviews and personal preferences. For starters, I used yukon gold potatoes and yams and I cooked them in separate pots. For the dressing, I used 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil and 1 tablespoon of olive oil instead of 3 tablespoons of canola (just don't like canola oil.) I added a bit of extra lime juice to replace the other tablespoon of oil and I used bold and spicy mustard. Also, I used celery instead of cucumber (just happened to have it in the fridge), only used 1/4 cup of chopped red onion and forgot to add the corn! I was going to use a can of corn instead of fresh and just forgot all about it. The recipe turned out amazing regardless! I will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This a wonderful recipe! After reading the other reviews I, as many already have, altered a few things which I think make it taste even better! I used far more potatoes than called for as I assumed that two large potatoes would be less than sufficient in feeding a large group of people. Secondly, I added about three TBSP's of curry powder and honey. I also doubled all the other dressing ingredients. This made an AWESOME dressing! I will definitely make it again and have to say that the curry made all the difference for me...if you like that sorta thing ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This potato salad is beautiful and delicious. I assembled the night BEFORE the party and found the next day, I needed a smidge more dressing. On the second day dressing, I used only lime juice, mustard, s&p and a few drops of oil... This was excellent. I used salted crushed peanuts and it made all the difference (without it, I would have had to add more salt to the salad). I have to admit, this was the prettiest dish on the table! And although I doubled the recipe, this was the first bowl emptied! Great summer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDNICONNALLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
A very delightful recipe. i didn't realize that it didn't ask for mayonnaise and it tasted great without it. However, we were in the mood for a mayonnaise based potato salad, so I added 1/2 cup and it tasted wonderful with it too! I omitted the onions. Wonderful recipe, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Yum, yum, yum!!! Oh, and did I mention that it is yummy? I made this last night to have for dinner tonight and almost ate the entire bowel last night. I was concerned that there was not enough dressing, but it is just the right amount. I held back half the onions also and used can corn and it was still great. What I love is that you can taste each ingredient without being overpowered by the dressing!!! And I have to admit I LOVE anything with cilantro!!!! Perfect for Florida and the dog days of summer!!! Thank you for sharing this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
My family loved it! Even my 2 yr old and 12 month old. I did use olive oil instead of the other oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
As with any recipe: read the reviews first for advice and tweaking, and then make it your own. Before bashing a posted recipe, understand that cooking isn't always an exact science, it's food. And everyone likes different things. This is the only sweet potato salad I've ever tried/made that was so creative with such a unique taste. I brought it to a potluck myself, and everyone loved it. The only thing I would have changed would to use salted peanuts instead of dry-roasted because I didn't add that much salt to begin with. Also, I cut the onion in half and minced it well. I didn't get the chance to use fresh corn, I used canned, and it was STILL amazing. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I really wanted to LOVE this--and it was very tasty--but it lacked zing. One thing, for sure, is that it needs more salt than what's in the potato-boiling water. It would also benefit from a little more lime juice. Even still, I will most definitely make this again because it was still a tasty potato salad with beautiful preentation. I'll just try to doctor it a bit more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States