Caribbean Sweet Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This was really good. I enjoyed it and would make again. Refreshing to have something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Fabulous!! This is such a delicious, unusual salad - a perfect compliment to anything spicy. I pretty much doubled the dressing because the potatoes just soak it up. Also, we added extra lime juice and more peanuts (they just give it a great rich flavor)AND some fresh chopped jicama for crunch and sweetness! Thanks for the recipe, we will make it again, for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Made the salad for a cookout, using some of the tips from reviewers -- more dressing and added honey & curry -- both good additions. I didn't really like it and only 1 person at the party did. I think it just wasn't what I expected. I would have preferred a sweeter dressing and I found myself wondering if adding pineapple juice to the dressing would help. I won't make this again so I'll never know. Also, the Russets didn't have a good texture. I'd recommend either using all sweet potatoes or maybe some new red potatoes with less cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
a really good suprise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I really wanted to like this but it just wasn't good. I would use all sweet potatoes next time, but I'm not sure it would save this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waltrip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I actually preferred this salad right after I made it compared to after refrigerating overnight. The lime flavor lessened a bit in the mingling. Also, the picture of the salad is misleading, since the spectacular color comes from yams, not sweet potatoes (which cook up a pale yellow). The sweet potatoes were good though, and a nice variation on your average salad. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
We loved this recipe! Followed it exactly no changes and it's fabulous. Thanks for the great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This was a huge hit at my work bbq! I used parsley instead of cilantro and left the peanuts on the side. It took a while to make, but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This was great! I used 2 yukon gold and 2 sweet potatos and it made a ton! I boiled them in separate saucepans, the yukon gold for about 10 minutes and the sweet potatos for about 15 minutes. For the dressing I doubled the lime juice, garlic, and dijon and used olive oil instead of canola oil (didn't double that). It was plenty to cover the extra potatoes. I served this chilled, letting it sit for about 2 hours before we ate it. High prise all around. The corn adds a nice sweet touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States