Caribbean Sweet Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
It was so delicious! I used olive oil instead of canola, and I also added an extra half tsp of dijon mustard. Next time I think I'll use a bigger sweet potato and smaller white potato. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This was really good! The ingredients went well together and I was asked for the recipe by both people that I let taste it. :-) I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This salad is always a big hit! I double it and use all sweet potatoes (usually 5 medium sized). I slice a large red onion as thinly as possible- it is great for flavor and texture in this dish. I also halve and de-seed the cucumbers before slicing. Leaving the seeds in the cucs would water-down the salad a lot, especially it you are making it a day ahead. Cooking the potatoes to the proper consistency is most important: I cut the potatoes before I boil and cook just until the potato can be cut with a fork and then blanch in cold water. I mix in the dressing and let it refrigerate overnight. This isn't necessary, but I like how the flavors mellow and meld together overnight. I find the amount of dressing to be perfect, but I make a little extra to add right before serving and grind on some sea salt and black pepper. If I was making this just for myself, I would also add some freshly ground red pepper flake, but not everyone likes spice, so I leave it out. A wonderful, refreshing dish for BBQs, picnics and parties. I love it and make it all year long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was just fabulous. Instead of boiling the potatoes, I cut them up (used 1 white and 2 sweet) in bite-sized chunks, put them in one layer in a glass casserole dish, covered with water and microwaved for 8 minutes. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly and it was even better than I had hoped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
The Best! Just made this salad this morning for my lunch, and am in love with it--its delicious! I didn't change anything in the recipe. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This recipe is absolutely DELICIOUS!! Whoever gives this a neg review must have the most boring taste buds. I made it to compliment my jerk chicken and I loved it and so did my husband. Very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maya

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Excellent alternate to potato salad. Cool and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I made this for a Margaritaville themed party & had tons of comments on it. Everyone wanted the recipe! :o) Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Whole family loved this. My daughter hates sweet potatoes but she loved them this way! Hubby is diabetic and cant have white taters so I sub all sweet taters. Diabetics can have sweet taters cause they are low on the glycemic index. FIL loved it too. He tends to not like new things but he asked for the recipe! Really yummy. I doubled the sauce too. I liked that it didn't have a creamy mayo based dressing. I might add some heat next time. THANK YOU for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Great Sauce- not a great recipe. Too many onions. Not good enough- not really caribbean either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States