Caribbean Sweet Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I just served this with a grilled pork loin on a very hot evening and it was perfect. I scooped the seeds out of the cucumber before I chopped it, I think that help keep it from watering the salad down. I also used peeled Yukon Golds. I am not a cilantro fan, but it was needed in this and the taste is not overpowering. I did all the prep. the day before, then a couple of hours before serving I put all of the components together to let the flavors meld. It tasted very fresh, but the potato had a chance to absorb some of the dressing flavor. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This recipe is delicious! Different than the ordinary potato salad dishes. I made it exactly as the recipe states, and everyone at our family picnic loved it! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harleydeluxegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I have made this recipe twice. Once exactly as written and once with all sweet potatoes and very little oil. I loved it both times. I brought it to a party and people literally raved about it and called it the best potato salad in the world. I think it is a such a nice alternative to a mayo based salad and it has great flavors. I serve it with jerk chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I reallly liked this!! And I was suprised that the kiddos and the hubby did too, considering they only seem to eat chicken and pb&j sandwiches. I made this for the cookout I am attending tonight, but I had to sample it of course and I let the family tsate it too. I added a lot more garlic, salt, pepper and mustard because I like my food with a ton of seasoning.I also used Yukon GOlds. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I used a big Japanese sweet potato, and it turned out great. My family liked it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Very good recipe, very tasty. I did not have all the ingredients so I had to substitute. I substituted the canola oil with olive oil and I did not have peanuts but I had crushed almonds. I recommend it. I will be making this quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This potato salad is very good but if you are going to eat it the next day the cucumbers get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
It was so delicious! I used olive oil instead of canola, and I also added an extra half tsp of dijon mustard. Next time I think I'll use a bigger sweet potato and smaller white potato. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This was really good! The ingredients went well together and I was asked for the recipe by both people that I let taste it. :-) I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This salad is always a big hit! I double it and use all sweet potatoes (usually 5 medium sized). I slice a large red onion as thinly as possible- it is great for flavor and texture in this dish. I also halve and de-seed the cucumbers before slicing. Leaving the seeds in the cucs would water-down the salad a lot, especially it you are making it a day ahead. Cooking the potatoes to the proper consistency is most important: I cut the potatoes before I boil and cook just until the potato can be cut with a fork and then blanch in cold water. I mix in the dressing and let it refrigerate overnight. This isn't necessary, but I like how the flavors mellow and meld together overnight. I find the amount of dressing to be perfect, but I make a little extra to add right before serving and grind on some sea salt and black pepper. If I was making this just for myself, I would also add some freshly ground red pepper flake, but not everyone likes spice, so I leave it out. A wonderful, refreshing dish for BBQs, picnics and parties. I love it and make it all year long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States