Caribbean Sweet Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This is a keeper! I made this for the holiday weekend with the Jerk Chicken and it was fantastic. The only "criticism" was that there wasn't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I think i'll add minced jalapeno next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Very good consistency, but favor-wise this was lacking. I ended up putting tons of spices on after the fact--once it was served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is my new favorite! Everyone loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
My DH hates potato salad but loves sweet potatoes so I thought I'd try this. It was a hit! He loved it! I did make some minor changes; I added a bit of cayenne to the dressing and a little sugar. I prepared this in the AM so at serving time I squeazed some more lime juice over the salad. (Note I reserve 5 stars for only to-die-for recipes so for most this would have received a 5)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOWA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I thought this would be unusual, but I was so impressed. It was incredibly flavorful and the peanuts turned out to be a nice surprise. I thought the dressing tasted too tart and overpowering by itself, but once mixed with the rest of the ingredients, it toned down and was perfect. It tasted great the next day. The cucumbers still had crunch, but were more "marinated". I loved the sweet potatoes, but my husband liked the white potatoes better - so there is something for everyone. I made it with a carribean papaya marinated flank steak. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Hyde Park, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I wish I'd taken a picture! I made this with the Alaska Salmon with Pecan Crunch. It was really good. I followed the recipe pretty closely. I used two white potatoes and one yam. And I didn't cook the corn. I used frozen sweet white corn and just tossed it in with the rinsed potatoes. I mixed the mustard and honey to taste and others might like it less sweet. The cucumber and onion should be added last to keep everything fresh and crunchy. Everyone loved it (four of us destroyed the entire bowl). I'll be making it again for and upcoming potluck wedding reception/barbeque. It paired really well with the Pecan Crusted Salmon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
It was good easy to prepare, but next time I would make it with more dijon mustard, it seemed liked the dressing was missing something, overall though very tasty, my picky hubby even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I was looking for a salad with no mayo, and this was a good option. I didn't change anything. Fairly labour-intensive to prepare the veggies; I cooked both potatoes a day ahead and put in fridge, which helped. Makes a fairly small salad as recipes states; for a get-together, I'd double it. Unique combo of flavours and I will make it again. I served it with chicken tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is a refreshing salad. I didn't have only half the lime juice, but it turned out okay. Be careful not to overcook the potatoes and definitily put in fridge overnight. Hard to measure potato size so just add potatoes to taste. You don't want them too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States