Caribbean Sweet Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
My young girls and I offer modifications that will thus perfect the salad for our family. Half the cucumber and smaller pieces, 1/4th onion, double white potatoes thus equalling perfection! A delicious lightly sweetened alternative to the heavier regular potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
The recipie was delicious as is but I tried a variation to suit my taste. Omitted the corn but added chunks of pineapple and cashews for peanuts. Cooked potatoes the night before but mixed in dressing right before the barbecue and added nuts at the last minute. Play around with the seasoning a bit (I added a spritz of Siracha to the dressing to kick it up). I would think with the pineapple shredded coconut might be a nice addition as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I love this salad! I leave out the peanuts and add pine nuts due to an allergy, but is works well without them too. I also omit the cucumber, just cuz it seems out of place. I add black beans, yummy! Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingNana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Not a crowd pleaser :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This recipes was GREAT... I messed around with the ingredients a lil... I had a can of drained and rinsed black beans (for protein) and I used olive oil instead of canola. Excellent dinner. I recommend serving room temp. (you can taste more of the flavors that way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Great salad, shared with several friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was a nice change from the mayo based potato salad. Nice flavors that everyone enjoyed. Will make again. I made as written. Next time though I will cook my potatoes less than they say as they did get a bit mushy. I just need to watch them closer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Very good. I added more cilantro and lime as recommended and it has a little kick but not too much. The sweet potato softens the blow. Impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Great fun twist on potato salad. I think next time that I will add some black olives or kalamata olives for some extra zing. It was better after it sat for a while as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This recipe is awesome...substituted pecans for the peanuts, yams instead of russet potatoes, peas instead of corn, and olive oil (1/2 to 2/3 the called for amount) in place of canola oil. Vegan, vegetarian, healthy, whatever...this dish was tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States