Caribbean Sweet Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This was great! I used 2 yukon gold and 2 sweet potatos and it made a ton! I boiled them in separate saucepans, the yukon gold for about 10 minutes and the sweet potatos for about 15 minutes. For the dressing I doubled the lime juice, garlic, and dijon and used olive oil instead of canola oil (didn't double that). It was plenty to cover the extra potatoes. I served this chilled, letting it sit for about 2 hours before we ate it. High prise all around. The corn adds a nice sweet touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Have to admit, this was not my favorite. I really expected it to be better than it was. I did, however, overcook the potatoes so that had something to do with messingup the texture. Will probably try it again as it sounds really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This was a lot of work to prepare, but the results were definitely worth it. I added a few extra cloves of crushed fresh garlic to this (about 4 total)which gave it a great kick and a wonderful aroma. I made this for a BBQ with some other side dishes, and this was the one dish that everyone finished. I got lots of compliments on this one. It's also really colorful and looks nice on the table. The different textures in the ingredients are what made this so unique and delicious. NOTE--I tripled this recipe and it came out fantastic. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Disappointing. Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Made this last night and decided to withhold my rating until today to see how it tasted after spending the night in the fridge. Tasted right after making, uh...no way. BUT...today is a totally different story! I think I like it because it is soooo different from your routine summer salad. The only downside is that it did seem to take a lot of work bringing it all together. Nonetheless, I'm glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I had high hopes for this salad and while it did not get tossed into the trash, it did not give me that "I want seconds" feeling. Everyone I served it to at dinner and at a potluck picnic the next day cleaned their plates, but no one went back for more. I think it needs some "zing" some spice. I will move on, though, instead of trying to improve upon this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Seperately I love all the ingredients in the recipe and it sounded like it would be just fabulous all together, I thought it was really just blah... I read some of the suggestions and did add more salt, added a little extra dressing...all in all, it still ended up just ok. Perhaps the suggestion of some extra kick might have helped. Not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Very good--I added a little cayenne pepper to give it a little zip, and a little vinegar as well. I used a yam instead of a sweet potato, and definitely use sweet potatoes because yams get too soft and make the whole thing kinda mushy. I love the blend of textures and tastes, though. I might use more lime and garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I doubled the recipe except for the cucumber, because I only had one, and put in some chopped celery. The dressing seemed too limey to me so I added a small blob of mayonnaise and about a tablespoon of sugar, which did the trick. I really liked this, but my husband, who generally likes just about everything didn't care much for it. He expects his potato salad to have white potatoes, hard boiled egg, and a rich mayonnaise dressing, like his mom used to make. Now I'm sorry I doubled the recipe. Thanks, though, I thought it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
LOVE IT.. My husband and I fell in love with this.. I replaced cilantro for parsley as I'm not a big fan of cilantro.. I also used 2 tbsp of olive oil and one tbsp vegatable oil.. Turned out GREAT.. A definite keeper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States