Caribbean Sweet Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This is AWESOME!!!!! What a great side dish for chicken, pork or fish. This dish has so much flavor and is really easy to prepare. I brought this to a BBQ and 10 people asked for the recipe! Don't go by the negatives reviews on this dish, try it for yourself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This was really good. I enjoyed it and would make again. Refreshing to have something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Fabulous!! This is such a delicious, unusual salad - a perfect compliment to anything spicy. I pretty much doubled the dressing because the potatoes just soak it up. Also, we added extra lime juice and more peanuts (they just give it a great rich flavor)AND some fresh chopped jicama for crunch and sweetness! Thanks for the recipe, we will make it again, for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Made the salad for a cookout, using some of the tips from reviewers -- more dressing and added honey & curry -- both good additions. I didn't really like it and only 1 person at the party did. I think it just wasn't what I expected. I would have preferred a sweeter dressing and I found myself wondering if adding pineapple juice to the dressing would help. I won't make this again so I'll never know. Also, the Russets didn't have a good texture. I'd recommend either using all sweet potatoes or maybe some new red potatoes with less cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
a really good suprise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Garretson-Bilnoski

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I really wanted to like this but it just wasn't good. I would use all sweet potatoes next time, but I'm not sure it would save this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waltrip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I actually preferred this salad right after I made it compared to after refrigerating overnight. The lime flavor lessened a bit in the mingling. Also, the picture of the salad is misleading, since the spectacular color comes from yams, not sweet potatoes (which cook up a pale yellow). The sweet potatoes were good though, and a nice variation on your average salad. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
We loved this recipe! Followed it exactly no changes and it's fabulous. Thanks for the great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This was a huge hit at my work bbq! I used parsley instead of cilantro and left the peanuts on the side. It took a while to make, but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States