Caribbean Sweet Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This is AWESOME!!!!! What a great side dish for chicken, pork or fish. This dish has so much flavor and is really easy to prepare. I brought this to a BBQ and 10 people asked for the recipe! Don't go by the negatives reviews on this dish, try it for yourself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This was really good. I enjoyed it and would make again. Refreshing to have something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Fabulous!! This is such a delicious, unusual salad - a perfect compliment to anything spicy. I pretty much doubled the dressing because the potatoes just soak it up. Also, we added extra lime juice and more peanuts (they just give it a great rich flavor)AND some fresh chopped jicama for crunch and sweetness! Thanks for the recipe, we will make it again, for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Made the salad for a cookout, using some of the tips from reviewers -- more dressing and added honey & curry -- both good additions. I didn't really like it and only 1 person at the party did. I think it just wasn't what I expected. I would have preferred a sweeter dressing and I found myself wondering if adding pineapple juice to the dressing would help. I won't make this again so I'll never know. Also, the Russets didn't have a good texture. I'd recommend either using all sweet potatoes or maybe some new red potatoes with less cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
a really good suprise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I really wanted to like this but it just wasn't good. I would use all sweet potatoes next time, but I'm not sure it would save this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waltrip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I actually preferred this salad right after I made it compared to after refrigerating overnight. The lime flavor lessened a bit in the mingling. Also, the picture of the salad is misleading, since the spectacular color comes from yams, not sweet potatoes (which cook up a pale yellow). The sweet potatoes were good though, and a nice variation on your average salad. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
We loved this recipe! Followed it exactly no changes and it's fabulous. Thanks for the great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This was a huge hit at my work bbq! I used parsley instead of cilantro and left the peanuts on the side. It took a while to make, but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States