Caribbean Sweet Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Penny P says: This was a lot of work to prepare, but the results were definitely worth it. I added a few extra cloves of crushed fresh garlic to this (about 4 total)which gave it a great kick and a wonderful aroma. I made this for a BBQ with some other side dishes, and this was the one dish that everyone finished. I got lots of compliments on this one. It's also really colorful and looks nice on the table. The different textures in the ingredients are what made this so unique and delicious. NOTE--I tripled this recipe and it came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
My super picky husband loved this recipe and kept stealing spoonfulls before dinner! I didn't have Dijon mustard so used regular yellow instead and it still tasted yummy. I also omitted the cucumber as I didn't have any on hand and I'm glad I did b/c the lack of excess water meant that this salad could stay refrigerated for quite a few days and still taste great, if not better than the first day! I also just threw in the peanuts whole to save time. A keeper and I will make again! Thank you so much for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lina
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I debated on this recipe because it sounded so weird. I was giving my husband a retirement party with a Carribea theme so I gave it a try. It is great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Wonderful! My husband "doesn't like sweet potatoes" and went back for seconds of this!! I added a little Carribean Jerk seasoning for a kick! Outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockingham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This was phenomenally good! I made it with sweet potato as the only vegetable and it was awesome! My husband usually doesn't care for sweet potato but he gobbled up this and even ate leftovers the next day! We thought it was best at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I just served this with a grilled pork loin on a very hot evening and it was perfect. I scooped the seeds out of the cucumber before I chopped it, I think that help keep it from watering the salad down. I also used peeled Yukon Golds. I am not a cilantro fan, but it was needed in this and the taste is not overpowering. I did all the prep. the day before, then a couple of hours before serving I put all of the components together to let the flavors meld. It tasted very fresh, but the potato had a chance to absorb some of the dressing flavor. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This recipe is delicious! Different than the ordinary potato salad dishes. I made it exactly as the recipe states, and everyone at our family picnic loved it! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harleydeluxegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I have made this recipe twice. Once exactly as written and once with all sweet potatoes and very little oil. I loved it both times. I brought it to a party and people literally raved about it and called it the best potato salad in the world. I think it is a such a nice alternative to a mayo based salad and it has great flavors. I serve it with jerk chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I reallly liked this!! And I was suprised that the kiddos and the hubby did too, considering they only seem to eat chicken and pb&j sandwiches. I made this for the cookout I am attending tonight, but I had to sample it of course and I let the family tsate it too. I added a lot more garlic, salt, pepper and mustard because I like my food with a ton of seasoning.I also used Yukon GOlds. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I used a big Japanese sweet potato, and it turned out great. My family liked it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States