Caribbean Sweet Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
My friend made this for one of our weekly get togethers and we all raved and made her share the recipe! Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kkricher
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This is a very fresh tasting salad - perfect for picnics! I used fresh corn cut off the cob and increased the lime juice. I used sunflower oil (since I had it on hand) and a bit more salt. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I made this for a family picnic a few months ago and it was a hit! The second time I made it, I cut back on the red onion and mixed in a small amount of mashed avocado to the sauce that I had leftover from another recipe I was making and absolutely loved it. Not only does this potato salad have a terrific flavor, it's bright and colorful and I'll be proud to bring it to many more picnics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I was pleasantly surprised when my husband and I made this for the first time. It was Passover and we needed something new to do with our sweet potatoes. Delicious, addictive potato salad, that lends itself easily to some adaptations. To make prep easier, we chopped up the sweet potatoes and then microwaved them (took less than ten minutes). Modifications we made: we used two sweet potatoes only, didn't have any cilantro, used only 2Tbl of olive oil (which was plenty), chopped celery instead of cucumber, and less red onion (eye-ball it to personal taste, we used about 1/4-1/3 cup). The crushed peanuts really added a lot, so don't skip them if possible. We will certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I love this recipe! It's now my go-to for barbecues - flavorful, perfect for the summer, and no mayonaise. It's always a hit and the simple ingredient list makes it easy to whip up in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VegGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This was delicious!! A different way to serve potato salad from the regular old mayonnaise recipe. Thanks for something different!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
super fantastic. The only change I will make next time is making the potatoes in two separate pots. My russets were getting a bit mushy and the sweet weren't quite done yet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This was a really nice salad with a twist for my Jamaican dinner for 50. Very interesting combination of sweet potatoes, corn, cucumbers, etc. the funny thing is that some people were turning their nose up at first but when they tried it they loved it and went back for seconds. One of the keys to this is to make sure you don't over cook the vegetables. make sure to pull the sweet potatoes and potatoes off the burner as soon as you stick a fork in them and it slides out easily. this was even better the second day with all of the juices mixing together. very interesting and fun and enjoyed by all. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Loved this salad. Could have done without the peanuts but everything else was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
this was a big hit! I skipped the cukes though, didn't need them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States