Caribbean-Style Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I used canned chicken breast and shred it apart because I was too lazy to grill. I substituted avocado because I didn't have any jicama and I also added chopped red onion. I just poured all the dressing over it and mixed it together. This is absolutely delicious and makes a great light and refreshing dinner on a warm day. I'll be eating this all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I decided to be one of the first to try this recipe out. I made a few changes though. I did not have jicama, so I used an avocado chopped up. I also added a tomato, some chopped red onion, and about 1/2 cup chopped cilantro. The salad part was very good, but the chicken was only ok. I put it all on rice for dinner, and used it in a wrap the next day. I will deffinately make this again maybe using a different recipe for the chicken. The salad is amazing though and my 7 year old ate it two days in a row cleaning her plate. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is an excellent salad. The grilled chicken was so good. I marinated it overnight because I really wanted it to have a good flavor. The first time I made it I bought jicama and was very disappointed with it. I left it out the second time. I added red onion and used a variety of peppers to help with cost. I made this for a baby shower for 40 women. I would suggest using half the beans and either use more mango or add pineapple. I even had a little marinade left over for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
We loved it! I added a bunch of cilantro, half a cucumber sliced in thin, long strips and (for my husband and I) one whole jalapeno, seeds and all, also sliced in long, thin strips. I really loved the addition of a little heat! I would add thinly sliced red onion if the jalapeno sounds to spicy for you. I served it in onion pita bread and even my son, who never eats salads, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
YUM! This is so good. I fixed it per the recipe, and it is delicious. Next time I make it, and there will be a next time, I think I will marinate the chicken overnight. I will also make more of the marinade/dressing because I thought the lettuce could use a little dressing (but that's just personal taste). I might also marinate the black beans in some of the dressing to give them more of the yummy taste. Thanks for sharing - very good salad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I thought this was way to sweet. I would've liked to eat the mango by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This recipe was really good, but I have to agree with another reviewer. It definitely could use some cilantro, and I added in an extra splash of lime. Avocado would add a nice touch, also. With these additions, it has just the right flavor, texture, and lightness. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATIECHILE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! I did have to make a few changes, left out the black beans because I was out, omitted garlic (due to a guest allergy) and added a dash of dry mustard to the dressing. I used leftover roasted chicken, marinated in the dressing for a couple of hours in the refrigerator before adding fruit. Also added diced papaya and mandarin oranges. Would also be great with either almonds or chopped cashews. Served with sourdough Wasa bread. A huge hit! Will definitely serve again!!! I also think the dressing would be amazing on a fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINE6420

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I loved this...but felt it needed one more little thing...some thinly sliced purple onion. It added a nice color and great flavor. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fondukes
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was amazing. Very fresh and beautiful. I doubled the dressing and added chopped cilantro. My husband and son wouldn't try it - too colorful and healthy looking for their picky tastes... So I ended up eating it 3 days straight. The first and second days were equally wonderful, but by the third day things got a little mushy and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States