Caribbean-Style Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by fondukes
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was amazing. Very fresh and beautiful. I doubled the dressing and added chopped cilantro. My husband and son wouldn't try it - too colorful and healthy looking for their picky tastes... So I ended up eating it 3 days straight. The first and second days were equally wonderful, but by the third day things got a little mushy and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This recipe was really good, but I have to agree with another reviewer. It definitely could use some cilantro, and I added in an extra splash of lime. Avocado would add a nice touch, also. With these additions, it has just the right flavor, texture, and lightness. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATIECHILE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
We loved it! I added a bunch of cilantro, half a cucumber sliced in thin, long strips and (for my husband and I) one whole jalapeno, seeds and all, also sliced in long, thin strips. I really loved the addition of a little heat! I would add thinly sliced red onion if the jalapeno sounds to spicy for you. I served it in onion pita bread and even my son, who never eats salads, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I loved this...but felt it needed one more little thing...some thinly sliced purple onion. It added a nice color and great flavor. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
YUM! This is so good. I fixed it per the recipe, and it is delicious. Next time I make it, and there will be a next time, I think I will marinate the chicken overnight. I will also make more of the marinade/dressing because I thought the lettuce could use a little dressing (but that's just personal taste). I might also marinate the black beans in some of the dressing to give them more of the yummy taste. Thanks for sharing - very good salad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I don't normally love salads, especially for dinner, but this was soooo good! I loved every bite. I didn't make any changes - I just left out the jicama. I will definitely be making this again. It's tasty, healthy, and easy to make. What more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maura Moser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
What a great salad! I doubled the dressing and forgot the garlic, but I really don't think it needed it. I probably won't add it next time. I marinated the chicken for 1 hour, as directed, and I thought it was very flavorful. I imagine going a little longer would make it even better. This is very easy to put together but tastes impressive! Great for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I used canned chicken breast and shred it apart because I was too lazy to grill. I substituted avocado because I didn't have any jicama and I also added chopped red onion. I just poured all the dressing over it and mixed it together. This is absolutely delicious and makes a great light and refreshing dinner on a warm day. I'll be eating this all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
needs just a touch of cumin or maybe cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth K. Perdue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is an excellent salad. The grilled chicken was so good. I marinated it overnight because I really wanted it to have a good flavor. The first time I made it I bought jicama and was very disappointed with it. I left it out the second time. I added red onion and used a variety of peppers to help with cost. I made this for a baby shower for 40 women. I would suggest using half the beans and either use more mango or add pineapple. I even had a little marinade left over for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States