Caribbean-Spiced Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This dish is absolutely incredible! I made some adjustments to the ingredients: I doubled the amount of the listed spices because the chicken I used was nearly 5 lbs. I used olive oil instead of vegetable. I also made another batch of the spices and combined it with some olive oil and yummy root vegetables that I cut up very chunky: sweet potatoes (2), carrots (8 medium), white onion (1 small), and celery (1 thinly chopped stalk). I stuffed the vegetables in the chicken and surrounded the chicken with vegetables in the baking dish. This added about 30 minutes to the baking time and made it a bit difficult to base the chicken with the rum/lime juice sauce. I need to get an injection tool.... I'd like to try this dish with honey insted of brown sugar next time. Definitely try this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This is a really great recipe! The chicken smelled divine while cooking and was tender, juicy, and delicious when done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
The whole family loved this! I have made twice. I used more lime the first time & the second I used lemon instead as I was out of limes. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This recipe was so good that my dad said he wanted me to make it again, twice in a week! That's very rare in my family especially since we always eat the same things (chicken, pasta, etc.) I made some changed to the recipe though. I didn't have lime juice or rum so i used lemon juice and tequila. I also put on the spices the night before and put it into the fridge so it could "marinate" sorta. and I put the spices underneath the skin (i did this by pulling some of the skin from the breast and put the spices under there and rubbed) so the taste would be amazing! Before i even into the oven, i put even more of the same spices on! I basted it for the time it said then i turned the temperature up to 450 so the skin could be crispy. BOY! this was delicious! I've made it two times and my family LOVES it!!! I think it would be great with cooked carrots with a touch of lemon on them and some white rice. yumm!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinglovee!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
it wasnt what i expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Amazing! We are thrilled and will be roasting chicken this way for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I marinated a 6 lb chicken for 20 hours and it turned out perfect! The white meat was tender to the last bite, the juices were dripping and best of all the marinade on the skin baked into a delicious dark glaze. Since the chicken was so large and I used my compact Ronco rotisserie, I started to worry when the skin started turning dark (probably from the brown sugar) but it turned delicious anyway. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I wanted something different so I tried this out. I only had guava rum so I used that. It was very juicy and flavorful! The whole family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was OK as far as roast chickens go. I guess I was just expecting much more flavor & what I got was a plain roasted chicken with a spicy skin. And if you dont eat the skin, all you'll get is a plain roasted chicken. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Moist and tender roast chicken that was not too spicy. I did not have rum, so I used a 1/2 teaspoon of rum extract in 2 tablespoons of water in its place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States