Caribbean-Spiced Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This recipe was so good that my dad said he wanted me to make it again, twice in a week! That's very rare in my family especially since we always eat the same things (chicken, pasta, etc.) I made some changed to the recipe though. I didn't have lime juice or rum so i used lemon juice and tequila. I also put on the spices the night before and put it into the fridge so it could "marinate" sorta. and I put the spices underneath the skin (i did this by pulling some of the skin from the breast and put the spices under there and rubbed) so the taste would be amazing! Before i even into the oven, i put even more of the same spices on! I basted it for the time it said then i turned the temperature up to 450 so the skin could be crispy. BOY! this was delicious! I've made it two times and my family LOVES it!!! I think it would be great with cooked carrots with a touch of lemon on them and some white rice. yumm!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinglovee!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I have never written a review before for a recipe, but this chicken was so good, I had to say WOW and thanks for sharing. I followed the "roasting chicken 101" instructions to prep the chicken before cooking. My family, who gets tired of chicken because we eat it so much couldn't get enough. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I used this recipe on game hens instead of a chicken and it turned out great! The hens were so moist and the flavor of the spices was wonderful. I stuffed the hens with lime wedges and cilantro which I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I love all the spices coming together in this dish. Next time I will increase the lime juice and the brown sugar so as to have a little more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
My family thought this was good. DH says it tasted like Jerk chicken with out the heat.I used chicken parts instead of a whole chicken and cooked it for 1hr at 350 degrees. I will try this again with a whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This was delicious. I used tequilla instead of rum (that is what was in the house) and instead of cayenne pepper a little bit of red pepper flakes. Everyone loved including hubby and kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I'm just getting into roasting chickens and this was the second recipe I tried. I thought it was excellent. I used lemon instead of lime and didn't have clove so I left it out. Also, I used chicken leg quarters because it was what I had on hand. I also drained the fat drippings from the pan and made a sauce from what remained. It was a delicious meal. LOVED the cinnamin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This recipe is AWESOME!!! My husband loved it as did I. It was very simple to make and Very tasty!!! I would not change one thing about it!!! Will definitely make again and again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Beaudoin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This was not good. The chicken was not very moist and did not care for the flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This was too spicy for my taste, although the chicken was nice and juicy and tender. If I made it again, I would not put in the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States