Caribbean-Spiced Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I am not a Thanksgiving turkey type of girl so I decided to substitute this instead. I used an oven roaster chicken (about 8 pounds) so I used more of each ingredient seasoning to my taste. I used olive oil and seasoned the chicken both under the skin and on top. I also let it marinate overnight. Lastly, I used fresh herbs instead of dry. It makes a huge difference. My family LOVED the flavors. It was a hit for Thanksgiving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This was good but nothing special. I've tried other jerk chicken recipes with more interesting spice blends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This chicken was quite good and very moist. I rubbed the spice mixture under the skin, because I don't eat the skin and didn't want to throw out all the flavour when I removed it. I do wish I had of put the spice rub on a few hours before cooking so it would have went a bit deeper in the chicken. I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Loved this !!! This spice mix is awesome ... served the roasted chicken with mashed sweet potatoes w/lime & chives. Husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I didn't have rum and used tequilla instead and it came out just fine. I actually used a cut up chicken and grilled it when done. Good Flavors, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I tried this spice rub and didnt quite care for it..i did limeade with pinapple-mango juice for basting..nixed almost everything else and used just herbs..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Made this tonight for dinner and it was a hit! The aroma coming from the oven was amazing! The only thing I changed is that I removed the skin from the chicken, then brushed with oil and the spices. The chicken came out moist and juicy without the added fat of the chicken skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Made it tonight for dinner and it came out fabulous. I didn't have rum so I used tequila instead and I substituted paprika for the cayenne so it wouldn't be too hot for my 18 month old (who gave it her seal of approval with repeated "baby like"). I used 4 large bone-in breasts and cooked at 425 for one hour and they came out perfectly done. Also I mixed together the spices then added the oil and brushed the mixture on the chicken rather than brushing on the oil then sprinkling the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Outstanding....the basting sauce would even make a good cocktail :) have also made substituting Jamaican Allspice for the cinnamon and clove
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I did not enjoy this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States