Caribbean-Spiced Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I made this recipe last night exactly as written and it was so bland! It had absolutely no flavor to it at all and would not dare make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBEREP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
My family did not like this at all. When I asked them what they didn't like about it they said cinnamon does not belong on chicken. Sorry, won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I made this the other night, and I don't know if it was the method/ingredients, but it made the most MOIST roasted chicken I have ever made! I used a previously frozen Foster Farms roaster from Costco (about 4lbs). For the rub I used NapaStyle's Toasted Spice Rub as it most of the same ingredients, and the convenience of pre-made/mixed. I used the recipe for the basting sauce and personally couldn't taste the rum. Following the directions, I brushed it every 20-minutes as it roasted in a 325F oven. It took 2-hours for the juices to run clear. Today I shredded what was left to make a chicken salad and it was just as moist as when it came out of the oven. This will be a regular...when I have the 2-hours to devote to it! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kalaheo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I expected much more flavor. I rubbed the seasoning under the skin and basted as directed, but did not get the flavor that I was anticipating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
My husband and I have tried this one twice now and it was good both times. We did it on the bbq rotissere! It came out nice and moist with a sweet flavor from the cinamon which blends well with the lime and dry rub. I would have to say that you probably could tone down the rum to your liking because it can be a little strong. You could increase the lime and/or cinnamon. It's easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam gile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
This was really different, and I'm glad I tried it. I marinated 2 lbs boneless skinless chicken breasts, so the flavor was a little strong. I baked at 400 for about 20-30 minutes, then shredded the chicken for chicken salad. I discovered I'm not fond of the rum/cinnamon flavor in chicken; however, when mixed with leftover Ranch Dressing II from this website, the chicken was elevated to a very flavorful chicken dish. It definitely rates a try by following the recipe & roasting a whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This was wonderfully different. Not bland at all and very nice and moist. The cinnamon was an interesting addition. Loved it. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LimeGreenKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manning, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Living in West Africa you can just run out to the grocery store and buy roasted chicken. So I made this recipe and it was great, tasted just like the ones we use to buy at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Thank you for this recipe, I used a bigger chicken then the recipe called for so I had to increase the ingredients a little bit but it was falvorful and really enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
fabulous. Cooked a large roasting chicken (8-12 pounds) with the same amount of spices called for for a smaller chicken and it was plenty. I used spray olive oil instead of brushing on vegetable oil and it coated the chicken nice and evenly so that the spices stuck well. I basted maybe four time throughout the whole cooking time and it took it about 2:30 hours to cook at 350 degrees. The flavors in the spices and basting sauce were definitely evident in all parts of the chicken, but not overpowering. I served this as a part of a somewhat tropical themed Easter dinner and it was a HUGE hit. A couple of days later, I used the drippings to make gravy and it was some of the tastiest and most unique gravy I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States