Caribbean Pasta with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I thought this was just ok. I made it exactly as listed, except ground allspice instead of whole, and I actually forgot the cilantro at the end. Maybe it would have helped? The flavour of the sauce had a nice Carribean kind of feel to it (it is spicy but not overly so) but I just wasn't crazy about it with the pasta. I think it would be better with rice, but I guess afetr all the rave reviews I expected it to be a lot better. My Hub didn't like it much either. I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This dish takes awhile to make, but is ultimately delicious and highly recommended. My only change: I used one heaping tablespoon of Thai Kitchen's Roasted Red Pepper Chili Paste instead of two. The spice level was perfect; it had sufficient kick but didn't burn my face off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
While I assembled this dish differently, I don't think it changed the final results. I didn't have any Grand Marnier, so I had to use the juice of a couple of clementines. I didn't have chili paste either, and I subbed Red Curry Paste. I didn't use 2 TB of it, I used one heaping tsp, and boy was that hot enough!! This was an interesting mix of flavors. I also used whole wheat pasta, I think that may have helped tone down the heat some, but not much. If I make this again, I will certainly cut back on the curry, or look for chile paste. Thanks for the post liebelune!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Everyone loved it, and it was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
My husband loved this dish. I also thoroughly enjoyed the first few bites until my inadequate tongue couldn't handle the spice. (Should have listened when I made him taste test the crazy Japanese chilli paste I bought and he said it was hot even for him). I also used ground allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by concretejungleprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
I'm always looking for new and different ways to prepare shrimp and prawns and I found a "keeper" in this one! I did follow the advice of the reviewers that had boldly gone before me in that I used ground allspice but other than that, I didn't need to tinker with the recipe very much at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
this is a GREAT! although, there is no way i could fit 1.5 pounds of shrimp in that sauce + the 8 oz. of pasta! we cut about each of those in half and it was incredible :=) *just be sure NOT let the shrimp overcook in the sauce. ours were borderline-chewy! Not so great. I will be making this again next week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Nice easy dish to prepare. The fruitiness of the allspice really plays nicely off the chili sauce to create a tangy flavor which is not too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
Fantastic. Made this for my boyfriends tiki party and everyone wanted the recipe. I left out the cilantro (ick) and used ground allspice instead of the whole berries and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
What's great about this recipe is that the sauce can be made beforehand. I made it the day before I served the dish and it really gave the flavors a chance to blend together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States