Caribbean Pasta with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I thought this was just ok. I made it exactly as listed, except ground allspice instead of whole, and I actually forgot the cilantro at the end. Maybe it would have helped? The flavour of the sauce had a nice Carribean kind of feel to it (it is spicy but not overly so) but I just wasn't crazy about it with the pasta. I think it would be better with rice, but I guess afetr all the rave reviews I expected it to be a lot better. My Hub didn't like it much either. I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This dish takes awhile to make, but is ultimately delicious and highly recommended. My only change: I used one heaping tablespoon of Thai Kitchen's Roasted Red Pepper Chili Paste instead of two. The spice level was perfect; it had sufficient kick but didn't burn my face off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
While I assembled this dish differently, I don't think it changed the final results. I didn't have any Grand Marnier, so I had to use the juice of a couple of clementines. I didn't have chili paste either, and I subbed Red Curry Paste. I didn't use 2 TB of it, I used one heaping tsp, and boy was that hot enough!! This was an interesting mix of flavors. I also used whole wheat pasta, I think that may have helped tone down the heat some, but not much. If I make this again, I will certainly cut back on the curry, or look for chile paste. Thanks for the post liebelune!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Everyone loved it, and it was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
My husband loved this dish. I also thoroughly enjoyed the first few bites until my inadequate tongue couldn't handle the spice. (Should have listened when I made him taste test the crazy Japanese chilli paste I bought and he said it was hot even for him). I also used ground allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by concretejungleprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
I'm always looking for new and different ways to prepare shrimp and prawns and I found a "keeper" in this one! I did follow the advice of the reviewers that had boldly gone before me in that I used ground allspice but other than that, I didn't need to tinker with the recipe very much at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
this is a GREAT! although, there is no way i could fit 1.5 pounds of shrimp in that sauce + the 8 oz. of pasta! we cut about each of those in half and it was incredible :=) *just be sure NOT let the shrimp overcook in the sauce. ours were borderline-chewy! Not so great. I will be making this again next week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Nice easy dish to prepare. The fruitiness of the allspice really plays nicely off the chili sauce to create a tangy flavor which is not too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
Fantastic. Made this for my boyfriends tiki party and everyone wanted the recipe. I left out the cilantro (ick) and used ground allspice instead of the whole berries and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
What's great about this recipe is that the sauce can be made beforehand. I made it the day before I served the dish and it really gave the flavors a chance to blend together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States