Caribbean Pasta with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Made this for a group of 8 ladies. Everyone loved it and requested the recipe. It's a yummy combo of sweet and spicey. I had to make a couple of minor revisions:(1) used a combo of Grand Marnier, Cointreau and OJ of what I had on hand to meet the 1/2 c requirement since I doubled the recipe. I would say NOT to skimp on this step because the orange flavor is really tasty (2) reduced the heat. I could not find chile paste so used hot sriracha from my pantry. After taste-testing the hot sriracha and considering my crowd, I reduced the 4 Tb. of chile paste to 1 Tb. of hot sriracha for 8 servings with the option to add more individually. The heat was still there to add complexity to the flavors without having a simmering fire in your mouth. The amount of shrimp is pretty generous so you could scale back a bit if needed. The cilantro adds a fresh flavor and new texture. I served over tri-color rotini which looked fun but will serve with angel hair next time to spotlight the flavors vs competing with three textured pasta flavors. It's an easy dish for a group because of the day-ahead prep or you can make the sauce a few hours ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Personally, this was not my favorite. I think what bothered me about the recipe was that it is a fusion of so many different flavors, and some of the ingredients and spices get completely lost in the mix. It's kind of like this: I really like chili paste, cilantro, orange liqueur and curry powder in general. But when you put them all together in this recipe, you seem to lose the individuality of each part and they kind of mesh into one unusual, strange flavor. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Very flavorful! Tried it with rice and not with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Excellent, even my husband who is not a curry fan went back for seconds. Didn't have any Grand Marnier so I mixed some orange juice and brandy. Couldn't find chili paste so I used some chili sauce. It was great. This is good enough to serve to company. Next time I will try it with chicken. Love the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
very good, didn't have diced tomato, or canned diced tomato, or the Liqueur, I used orange juice, and pasta sauce. Ill make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Good recipe. I didn't have shallots, chicken stock, or liqueur, but I did add a little orange juice and replaced the berries with allspice powder. I also didn't have enough shrimp, so I also added scallops, which turned out rather nicely. I think this would go well on top of rice, rather than with noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Very good recipe and very adaptable. Didn't have whole allspice so used ground. No Grand Marnier so subbed brandy/orange juice with some zest from the orange to boost it. Used canned tomatoes (Muir Glen 14.5 ounce, 1 each diced and crushed fire roasted). Only had a pound of shrimp so added a pound of andouille sausage that I browned first. Great flavor and will definitely make again (husband's request!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
nothing personal, but didn't like it at all. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Delicious, but the spice was too much for my family. Will definitly tone it down next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This dish is possibly the best pasta dish I have ever made or eaten. I didn't have any orange liqueur so I used orange/pineapple juice and I also used a halve of a lemon for more of a sour orange taste. Else I stuck to the recipe. This will be a family favorite forever. Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States