Caribbean Pasta with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Oh wow...this mixes some sweet w/ a little heat! I left out the shallot -b/c I didn't have any- and I didn't have any allspice berries -I didn't even have ground allspice, so I put in a dash of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and black pepper (google's substitution for allspice). I used tri-coloured rotini, for extra colour. Ohhh wow...I'm glad we tried something we normally wouldn't have...it was incredible! Will post a photo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
Made this for my husband and I on Valentines Day 2002.He raved that it was Delicous after each Bite! It was an easy recipe to make and we both loved it! This will be a Recipe I will make Quite often,for guests as well as the two of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I substituted fresh-squeezed orange juice for the Grand Marnier (same amount) with some orange zest from the peel thrown in for good measure. And I used about 1/4 tsp. allspice rather than the whole allspice berries the recipe calls for. And I left out the cilantro, since neither my partner nor I like the stuff. The amount of chile paste specified in the recipe will make it very hot, so you might want to dial that down if hot/spicy isn't your thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This is an excellent and unique pasta dish. Even though I used a food processor, it does take some time to prepare the sauces, so if you want to save time, prepare them the day before. I will also try ground allspice vs. the whole berries. For me, biting into a whole allspice berry detracts from the enjoyment of this dish just a bit. My other personal preferences are to add 2 chopped jalapeños to heat the dish up a bit and double the Grand Marnier. I like the effect of the Grand Marnier and since it’s boiled, all of the alcohol is removed. Finally the cilantro really brings out the flavors. Don't leave it out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Good recipe. I didn't have shallots, chicken stock, or liqueur, but I did add a little orange juice and replaced the berries with allspice powder. I also didn't have enough shrimp, so I also added scallops, which turned out rather nicely. I think this would go well on top of rice, rather than with noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This was a wonderful meal! I did subsitute a few items that I didnt have on hand. I used about 1/2 can of diced tomatoes. Instead of the Brandy based Orange Liquer, I used freshly squeezed Orange Juice. I also ommitted the curry powder. It turned out perfect! Thanks you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This recipe was wonderfull. I didn't use any chile paste or curry powder (didn't have any). Instead I used red pepper flakes and the result was a dish with the perfect amount of kick. I also used plain brandy and a splash of orange extract in place of the Grand Marnier. I also used ground ginger and sundried tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This dish is possibly the best pasta dish I have ever made or eaten. I didn't have any orange liqueur so I used orange/pineapple juice and I also used a halve of a lemon for more of a sour orange taste. Else I stuck to the recipe. This will be a family favorite forever. Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was really good and spicy, too spicy for my husband actually. Next time I won't put in as much chili paste. I used ground all spice instead of whole berries, and OJ instead of Gran Marnier. I also used whole wheat pasta. The left-overs taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Good flavor but the curry dominates...will use a little less next time. i also might add some jerk-style seasoning to make it more caribbean. also, the chili paste could be too much for people...definitely add to taste. thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWLEVINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States