Caribbean Pasta with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I used half of a green pepper and only 1 tbls of chili paste and it still turned out pretty hot. Loved it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Oh wow...this mixes some sweet w/ a little heat! I left out the shallot -b/c I didn't have any- and I didn't have any allspice berries -I didn't even have ground allspice, so I put in a dash of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and black pepper (google's substitution for allspice). I used tri-coloured rotini, for extra colour. Ohhh wow...I'm glad we tried something we normally wouldn't have...it was incredible! Will post a photo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I made this for my husband for Valentine's Day. He and I agreed it's a keeper. Something that's completely different that maries the pasta and the shrimp well. Also, low fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I thought this was just ok. I made it exactly as listed, except ground allspice instead of whole, and I actually forgot the cilantro at the end. Maybe it would have helped? The flavour of the sauce had a nice Carribean kind of feel to it (it is spicy but not overly so) but I just wasn't crazy about it with the pasta. I think it would be better with rice, but I guess afetr all the rave reviews I expected it to be a lot better. My Hub didn't like it much either. I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This dish takes awhile to make, but is ultimately delicious and highly recommended. My only change: I used one heaping tablespoon of Thai Kitchen's Roasted Red Pepper Chili Paste instead of two. The spice level was perfect; it had sufficient kick but didn't burn my face off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
While I assembled this dish differently, I don't think it changed the final results. I didn't have any Grand Marnier, so I had to use the juice of a couple of clementines. I didn't have chili paste either, and I subbed Red Curry Paste. I didn't use 2 TB of it, I used one heaping tsp, and boy was that hot enough!! This was an interesting mix of flavors. I also used whole wheat pasta, I think that may have helped tone down the heat some, but not much. If I make this again, I will certainly cut back on the curry, or look for chile paste. Thanks for the post liebelune!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Everyone loved it, and it was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
My husband loved this dish. I also thoroughly enjoyed the first few bites until my inadequate tongue couldn't handle the spice. (Should have listened when I made him taste test the crazy Japanese chilli paste I bought and he said it was hot even for him). I also used ground allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by concretejungleprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
I'm always looking for new and different ways to prepare shrimp and prawns and I found a "keeper" in this one! I did follow the advice of the reviewers that had boldly gone before me in that I used ground allspice but other than that, I didn't need to tinker with the recipe very much at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
this is a GREAT! although, there is no way i could fit 1.5 pounds of shrimp in that sauce + the 8 oz. of pasta! we cut about each of those in half and it was incredible :=) *just be sure NOT let the shrimp overcook in the sauce. ours were borderline-chewy! Not so great. I will be making this again next week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States