Caribbean Pasta with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Oh wow, was this delicious! I didn't have any orange liqueur, so I used orange extract; it worked out very well. I also didn't have any chile paste, so I used pepper flakes. Other than these changes, I added a small can of pineapple tidbits that I had in the pantry. Perfect addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I thought this was good but I'm going to make some changes the next time I make it. I used pepper flakes instead of chili paste. Next time I will cut down on the amount. I also used half a can of diced tomatoes. Next time I will use a whole can. I used orange juice instead of the orange liquer which worked out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This was a wonderful meal! I did subsitute a few items that I didnt have on hand. I used about 1/2 can of diced tomatoes. Instead of the Brandy based Orange Liquer, I used freshly squeezed Orange Juice. I also ommitted the curry powder. It turned out perfect! Thanks you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
It wasnt the flavor I was looking for at all. I wanted a more tangy sweet and spicy, and for me it was just a weird flavor. I didnt follow the recipe exactly, i didnt have shallots or green pepper, but i dont think those would of made me like this. It was edible, just wasnt great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I substituted fresh-squeezed orange juice for the Grand Marnier (same amount) with some orange zest from the peel thrown in for good measure. And I used about 1/4 tsp. allspice rather than the whole allspice berries the recipe calls for. And I left out the cilantro, since neither my partner nor I like the stuff. The amount of chile paste specified in the recipe will make it very hot, so you might want to dial that down if hot/spicy isn't your thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I doubled this recipe for fear that it might not be enough. We ended up having a good amount of leftovers, so the original recipe amounts are definitely enough for four people. I made the sauce a day before serving it as others suggested. I included the tomatoes and by the next day, they were very sweet but shriveled looking, so I could have added them later . The sauce smelled wonderful and was perfect because I had most of the ingredients on hand. I used about half of the chili paste and it was fine but might use the full amount next time to try it out. Overall a good sweet/spicy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This recipe was wonderfull. I didn't use any chile paste or curry powder (didn't have any). Instead I used red pepper flakes and the result was a dish with the perfect amount of kick. I also used plain brandy and a splash of orange extract in place of the Grand Marnier. I also used ground ginger and sundried tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was really good and spicy, too spicy for my husband actually. Next time I won't put in as much chili paste. I used ground all spice instead of whole berries, and OJ instead of Gran Marnier. I also used whole wheat pasta. The left-overs taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Good flavor but the curry dominates...will use a little less next time. i also might add some jerk-style seasoning to make it more caribbean. also, the chili paste could be too much for people...definitely add to taste. thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWLEVINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I couldn't find chile paste and debated for a while, finally I used Garlic Paste...I was worried because it asks for 4 cloves of garlic as well...but it was fantastic. I bet it's probably better with the chile paste...whenever I find it. There was not a noodle left. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States