Caribbean Nachos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I have made this twice in the last two weeks for different events. Every one loved it! It is a very unusual combination, and it presents beautifully! I just microwaved the Jerk sauce and I coated both shrimp and the pineapple with the sauce. I also used shredded pepper jack chees as a reviewer below suggested. My father in law said it was the best appetizer he has ever had, and he has dined in some of the top restaurants in the country!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Fantastic nachos. Made as directed even though I was apprehensive of all the bell peppers and onions. Perfect amount of ingredients and wonderful blend of flavors! Thanks for sharing. I served it with Planter's Punch...equal amounts of Myers rum, oj and pineapple juice and splash of grenadine. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
The many reviews that added black beans sounded pretty good and I wanted it to be filling, because it was our dinner. Since my shrimp was raw and large, I cut it in more bite sized pieces, put the pineapple pieces in the cooking sauce first until they were tender, mixed in the drained black beans and then added in my shrimp until it was just starting to turn pink. I then drained the liquid off very well in a strainer, and spread that over the veggie mixture. A trick I've learned to keep your nachos from being soggy is to put most the shredded cheese on top of the chips, then top with the veggies since they need the heat to cook, and putting a thick layer of cheese on top of all your veggies traps the moisture and chips soak it up. Throw more cheese on the top the last minute or so of cooking until it all melts. Your chips stay crunchy. My son said this was the best nachos he's ever had, and he is 25 and eats out a lot with friends. Both my husband and I thought is was a fun summer meal, and it was very filling. All this covered a 15X10 pan, and half of a second pan...so it makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
In the midst of watching the Pats game and eating these nachos. Everyone loves them, a great twist on a game-time favorite. Used the smallest shrimp I could find (salad shrimp) and they are just the right size. Don't know if we'll have room for the half-time pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGONFLYJILL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
These were the most amazing food ever! We regularly eat nachos as a dinner meal and are going to add this recipe to our regularly made dishes. Since there are just two of us...this recipe was too much. So, we will cut the recipe in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Wonderful recipe. I used jerk chicken instead of shrimp. It was a success and even the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
"Filling" SUPER tasty but think it would be soooo much better in taco shells, maybe even a quesadilla- the tortilla chips just didn't do it justice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shay
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Today was my first time cooking this and my family absolutely loved it... I didn't use shrimp because not everyone in my family like shrimp so I used chicken. But the blends of the different flavors are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
instead of Prawns, some smoked salmon or hotsmoked salmon - not a bacon lover, choose a veggie substitute - lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOWJOW34

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Croydon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
WOW, these are beyond delicious! I also added black beans, as some other reviewers suggested and cut the shrimp into pieces for more even distribution and easier eating. Hubby said he could picture us on a beach sippin' on margaritas and eating these nachos, lol. I did serve these w/ 'Beer Margaritas' from this site. A HUGE hit and a definite repeat~YUM, YUM, YUM!!!!!! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States