Caribbean Meat Pockets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by endoalir
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was fun to make and it turned out delicious! I'll definitely be making these again some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly as it was written. The meat was awesome! Very close to the pockets sold in the city. Reminds me my college days- BKLYN. However, I had some difficulty with the crust. I stirred in the water and egg but the dough remained crumbly. I added a lot more water but ran out of time so I quickly threw in another egg, which held it together. Because of this, the crust was not light and flakey. It was rather heavy and dense. I am not an expert so I am not sure what the appropriate remedy would have been for the crust. I will def try this again with modifications to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Great recipe... the trick to a good dough is to use ice cold water so it will hold together... The meat mixture was really tasty and very NYC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Loved the filling!! Had a problem with the "pocket"; even tho I am a pie maker, it just didn't work well for me. I will try the recipe again with my own crust recipe. Thanks for the trip down memory lane, devaudio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MontanaKydd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
dough was extremely dry, will never make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angeleyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
These were delicious! I did make some alterations, however. I added some seasoned potatoes while the beef was simmering, instead of bread crumbs. I also added some sharp cheddar cheese and my husband LOVED them!!! Totally making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is definitely a keeper recipe! My family loved it and it was fairly easy to make. The only adjustments or changes I made is I used butter instead of vegetable shortening (as always) and I used freshly ground soft wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Silver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
The filling for this was great. I just added some Creole seasoning and only 3 tablespoons of breadcrumbs (did not really have any drippings to drain off). I did not use this crust recipe, because of the reviews. My family loved these. The cooking time was only 30 mins, but I think that depends on the oven and the size of the pies. I also made some veggie ones with the same seasoning, but with potatoes, peas and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States