Caribbean Fish With Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Monique
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Very good recipe - good enough for guests! For the salss, I added 1 seeded and chopped jalapeno pepper and it added a bit of heat that we like. Very fresh tasting and the fish pan-fried (without oil) to a nice golden colour. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I've made it many times now because my husband and son really like it. We have different kinds of mangoes here and this is good with either soft and yellow or green and crispy ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fadano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Enjoyed this recipe. Always looking for interesting ways to fix fish. Didn't have all the ingredients, but it didn't matter. Instead of making the mango salsa I used Italian Rose, Mango Salsa I bought at Sam's Wholesale. A lot of the same ingredients, but a lot easier. Recipe tasted great, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOE SIRMON

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Theodore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This recipe has as couple of issues that just kill it. Number one, the entire recipe requires 1 tablespoon of spice mix. The directions have you mixing up what will amount to a full 1/3 of a cup of spice mix. I don't know about you but JHC what a waste. Then it has you put the 1 tbsp you will use in the panko where it pretty much languishes because the egg dunk won't work without the flour dunk that should precede it. The result as directed was tasteless fish with a bright crunchy and completely out of place fruit salad. SO, I made it again tonight. (I had all this spice mix left over!!) I mixed the tbsp of spice mix in with 1/4 cup of flour and dredged the tilapia in that, then egg, then panko. The Salsa I put on the stove and cooked with an additional tablespoon of lime juice and 1 tsp of the spice mix. The result was perfect, making this into a 5 star recipe. The fish became full flavoured and juicy cuz the spice was on the fish and sealed with the flour and egg, I also salted the filets before flouring. The salsa actually became a salsa and with the spice added became a rich accompaniment perfectly married to the flavour of the fish. THIS I will make again. What to do with the remaining spice I have no idea. Cut it in half at least, even just a 1/3. I also subbed parsley for the cilantro which I taste as soap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This was good. I had a difficult time getting the breading to stick and I am not sure it really added much to the recipe. Next time I think I will just omit it and make it a more "week night friendly" dinner. I did use jarred mango salsa that I added more mango and black beans to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSHY1127

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I love mangos and on fish it's the best. I tried this and loved it. Thanks for putting on site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Celina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Used monk fish and followed the recipe exactly. Turned out very good but ended up with a lot of the salsa left over. No worries though... it goes with lots of other stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is a great recipe...I tripled the spice blend mix to have on hand and used it on pounded chicken breast. Used coconut milk in the egg wash and ground coconut in with the crumbs...fresh peach mango salsa and yello rice finished it off and even my kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States