Caribbean Crabmeat Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
One of my all time favorite pasta salads. Love the bright, sweet, smokey combination and it's the only recipe I like fresh cilantro in. Always a hit at work potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I found this recipe here several years ago and have been making it ever since. The only change I have made is using the spiral pasta instead of the rotini, other than that it is perfect!! When I take it to pot lucks, everyone asks for the recipe! Love This Salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvMyLab
Home Town: Judith Gap, Montana, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This rating may be due to the fact that I did not have imitation crab meat and so I used the canned stuff. It's a little less than the recipe calls for, and I'm sure I'd have loved this salad a lot more if it were meatier. So taking that into consideration, I still felt this salad was lacking a little bit of something. It was definitely a pretty dish and visually appealing. Maybe if it had a little more "dressing" or "sauce", I found that my salad was a little dry after refrigerating overnight to soak up the flavors. I would make this again if I find myself with a bunch of imitation crab meat! But until then, I don't think the work that mangoes require to prep is worth it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This dish was excellent, perfect for a BBQ or light meal and very easily customizable. My GF has celiac's disease so we used gluten free rotini pasta and it turned out surprisingly well, rinsing the pasts prevented it from having the typical mushy texture that gluten free pasta is known for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BretABaker
Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This was great! I had to tweak it based on ingredients on hand (substituted crushed red pepper for jalepeno & omitted mango). I cannot wait to make this with the missing ingredients! Very refreshing alternative to the heavy mayo salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Very refreshing. The cumin flavor gives it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Beautiful and delicious. I used mini bowties and probably would have gone with a more "sturdy" pasta like penne or rotini as suggested. Loved the zing of the jalapeno. It got better the longer it sat. I'm looking forward to having leftovers all week for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI2573

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This was Yummy!!! We wanted something refreshing and different. This recipe deliverers! We are big fans of bold flavor, so couldn't resist adding 3 cloves of minced garlic and 3 chopped scallions. I used one pound of spaghetti noodles broken in thirds. Tripled the faux crab. Doubled the dressing, cilantro, and mango. Only used 1/4 teas cumin per others suggestions. Weak tummies, so I went with 1/4 of the jalapeno. I am telling you this is the bomb! THANKS 4 SHARING LEIANE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chatsworth, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This was great, loved the different flavors going on. Only thing I changed was I used wheat pasta. Will differently make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
We think this is fab. I've used both frozen mango and canned mango (you have to be careful with canned cause it "smushes" easily) when fresh has been unavailable. If you don't like the taste of cumin (I looove it) try fresh grated ginger and/or black pepper and/or a dash of chili. I like a lot of dressing and a lot of veges in relation to pasta so I add plain yoghurt to the dressing and throw in some mizuna and extra cilantro, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by concretejungleprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States