Caribbean Crabmeat Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Parekoy Ronaldo
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
CRAB PASTA ROTINI SALAD with HONEY LIME AVOCADO DRESSING (My own variation of Carribean Seafood Salad) Can't believe I made a salad like this! Refreshingly tasty, flavourful, sweet and tangy! The healthiest Salad I've done! And one of the best seafood pasta salad I tried so far. I created my own variation of the recipe with supreme verve and the passion to make a difference, I customized the recipe with a touched of the world's healthiest fruit as they claimed to be- dried apricots! And tossed in some sweet corn kernels for a kick. And I made it more healthy by adding avocado to honey and lime dressing. Mixed all three together in a bowl, added the ginger powder, cumin, lime zest and olive oil. I also infused a little amount of cilantro and jalapeno to enhance the exotic flavor of the dressing then blended the mixture in a food processor. Oh, the aroma is lingering! The dressing so creamy, sweet and tangy! I scraped the amount of honey lime avocado dressing that was left in the processor and spread it on a multigrain toast, topped it with tomato and lettuce and voila! I made a healthy yummy sandwich for my son! Worth the effort and every penny spent! This is a mouth-watering, superb salad that everyone will love and enjoy! http://instagram.com/p/sE5sGcJsVs/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parekoy Ronaldo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calasiao, Pangasinan, Philippines
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
One of my all time favorite pasta salads. Love the bright, sweet, smokey combination and it's the only recipe I like fresh cilantro in. Always a hit at work potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I found this recipe here several years ago and have been making it ever since. The only change I have made is using the spiral pasta instead of the rotini, other than that it is perfect!! When I take it to pot lucks, everyone asks for the recipe! Love This Salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvMyLab
Home Town: Judith Gap, Montana, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This rating may be due to the fact that I did not have imitation crab meat and so I used the canned stuff. It's a little less than the recipe calls for, and I'm sure I'd have loved this salad a lot more if it were meatier. So taking that into consideration, I still felt this salad was lacking a little bit of something. It was definitely a pretty dish and visually appealing. Maybe if it had a little more "dressing" or "sauce", I found that my salad was a little dry after refrigerating overnight to soak up the flavors. I would make this again if I find myself with a bunch of imitation crab meat! But until then, I don't think the work that mangoes require to prep is worth it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This dish was excellent, perfect for a BBQ or light meal and very easily customizable. My GF has celiac's disease so we used gluten free rotini pasta and it turned out surprisingly well, rinsing the pasts prevented it from having the typical mushy texture that gluten free pasta is known for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BretABaker
Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This was great! I had to tweak it based on ingredients on hand (substituted crushed red pepper for jalepeno & omitted mango). I cannot wait to make this with the missing ingredients! Very refreshing alternative to the heavy mayo salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Very refreshing. The cumin flavor gives it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Beautiful and delicious. I used mini bowties and probably would have gone with a more "sturdy" pasta like penne or rotini as suggested. Loved the zing of the jalapeno. It got better the longer it sat. I'm looking forward to having leftovers all week for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI2573

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This was Yummy!!! We wanted something refreshing and different. This recipe deliverers! We are big fans of bold flavor, so couldn't resist adding 3 cloves of minced garlic and 3 chopped scallions. I used one pound of spaghetti noodles broken in thirds. Tripled the faux crab. Doubled the dressing, cilantro, and mango. Only used 1/4 teas cumin per others suggestions. Weak tummies, so I went with 1/4 of the jalapeno. I am telling you this is the bomb! THANKS 4 SHARING LEIANE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chatsworth, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This was great, loved the different flavors going on. Only thing I changed was I used wheat pasta. Will differently make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States