Caribbean Crabmeat Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I loved this salad but did not get the quantities. Next time, I will half the pasta and double the crab. I will also double the dressing and maybe even triple the lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I made this with real crabmeat instead of imitation, skipped the jalepeno and added extra lime zest, and loved the result. Definitely add oil to the pasta water to keep it from sticking, as well as rinsing pasta with cold water afterward. Also a very ripe mango is key. You should feel the mango give under the peel when you buy it, and after you cut the mango into big pieces, the peel should come off relatively easily under your fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I've made this dish to take to three dinner parties so far and have received rave reviews. It's a great summer dish - light and refreshing. It's especially great right now since mangos are in season. The only thing I changed was I used whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dave W.
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Very good. Flavorfull and fresh. A great summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
I was really excited about trying this dish, but found myself completely disappointed. I'm not for sure if it was the mango or the cumin that threw it off for me, but I found the whole thing quite inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Very good. For a lighter version, substitute lettuce and shrimp for the pasta and crabmeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This recipe sounded fantastic. However, I completely botched it up. I tried to use fresh mango, which I have never dealt with before and I had an awful time. I don't know if my mango's were not ripe yet but they were almost impossible to cut and they tasted extremely acidic. In fact, the whole recipe once I finished it tasted way too acidic. I tried to salvage it by adding extra honey, but it was too late. I had to throw it all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICEPIRATE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Made this recipe twice. Took a few shortcuts - used Del Monte (I think) mango which comes in a jar peeled, sliced, and stored in it's own juice in the refigerated section of the grocery store. I found this recipe worked best when I made it the day before, and let it sit overnight in the frig. The flavors really blend together well that way. This salad was a big hit. I'll be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
I made a couple of alterations.. used whole wheat pasta and frozen mango chunks, defrosted. It tasted really good. A nice light summer salad.. perfect at the end of a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
I think this is one of those recipies were you are either going to love it or hate. Unfortunatelly no one in my family liked this salad at all. Maybe because we are used to a mayo based crab salad that we didn't care for this , because we love the citrus & fruit seperately. We really tried to eat it, but had to throw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States