Caribbean Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight and hubby and I both agree this is wonderful! I did make a couple of slight changes however. I did not put this in the oven as I didn't see the benefit in doing so. I cooked the chicken until nearly done then removed it from the pan. Next I sauteed the vegetables and garlic (used minced as I did not have any roasted) adding the chicken back in when the vegetables were translucent. Last step was to add the entire can of coconut milk and seasonings then let simmer for 15 minutes. I served this over jasmine rice and garnished with some sweetened flaked coconut. The combination of the sweet and spicy was heaven. I will definately make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This was really good, but I made LOTS of changes. I fried cut up chicken breasts (3 large) in oil and about 2 tsp garlic, minced. I added fresh ground pepper and salt. I added red and green chopped peppers, chopped red onion, and 1/16th tsp of cayenne pepper. I cooked for about 2 minutes, added cinnamon, ginger, red pepper flakes, and all-spice. Stirred and added half a can of coconut milk. I let it cook for about 3-5 minutes, added the rest of the can of coconut milk, and lime juice. If I had cilantro, I would have stirred that in too. I ate it plain, but on rice or quinoa would be good. I added a tablespoon of guacamole on top for garnish. Yummy. One of those throw-together recipes where you can really make it to your liking, which is nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Very good! We enjoyed this, although bf took a dim view of the veggies I used (I used a veggie mix that has peppers in it, but he's not always fond of peppers). I have a Costco sized bag of breaded chicken breasts that I'm trying to use up, so instead of using skinless boneless chicken, I used those (close enough--only difference is they are already seasoned and breaded). Since I used the breaded chicken, I didn't put it in the skillet at all, but cooked the veggies a bit in the skillet with the coconut milk and some flour to thicken, then poured the mixture over the chicken. I added the remainder of the can after it baked for 45 minutes, turned off the oven and let it sit for another 15 minutes. When I served this, I added some unsweetened coconut on top for garnish. I love this! The coconut milk is wonderful with the chicken and vegetables, and adding flour made it thick enough in the end for a slightly thick sauce. I served over green rice, and it made the rice better. The veggies did get a tad too browned for my liking, so I might cover the dish next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This was very bland. Unless I can think of some others things to add flavor, I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Otsego, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I love this recipe! I add a whole can of coconut milk instead of half because the sauce is so amazing. I also season the chicken with some fresh ground pepper while it's cooking and then use cayenne pepper at the end to spice it up since I don't have red pepper flakes. This recipe is awesome, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
MY family loved this.. and I did add pineapple as suggested by a reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was a hit. My modifications are: use the whole can of coconut milk, only use one onion and one red bell pepper. I cook the chicken to just about done, remove, and then sautee the pepper onion and garlic in the chicken juices. I then cut up the chicken, and then add it back to the skillet with the coconut milk. Only bake in the oven for 10-15 min. I do this all in one big iron skillet so that I don't have to transfer to a casserole dish. Yummy yummy to my tummy. (serve over rice with salad.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyDarlingNiki
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Not too coconut-y, just mellow and good. Instead of adding the garlic I sprinkled the chicken liberally with Jerk seasoning before browning and then added more to the sauce. I baked the chicken 15 minutes covered, 15 minutes uncovered, and when I checked it with a thermometer found that it was done a little sooner than the recipe instructs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I did exactly what the recipe said with one modification. I just added some sliced mushrooms with the onions. The outcome was very good. I passed it on with friends and they loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This recipe is a great starting off point. I didn't brown the chicken first instead I baked it at 300 degrees F for an hour . Like others said I thought it needed something so I added some curry powder and cumin and 2 minced garlic cloves. I also didn't have red or green pepper so I left them out. I served it over jasmine rice and it was a very tasty weekday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States