Caribbean Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This is an good recipe, but I thought it could use some additions. I used a whole can of coconut milk rather than half and added sesame oil, fresh ginger, jalapeno pepper, fresh lime juice and cilantro, which turned good into extraordinary!! Also, I did not put it in the oven. I browned the chicken really well (I used thighs and breasts)and then removed it from skillet to saute the vegetables. I added the chicken back with the vegetables and coconut milk and finished cooking it on top of the stove. I think I would cut the chicken in bite sized pieces the next time. Serve over rice. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This dish is very tasty however, I would do some things differently next time. Instead of adding 7 oz of coconut milk, I will use a full can to create more sauce. Secondly, I didn't think it was necessary to bake it for 45 min., 10 min. was enough. This dish taste great over a bed of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2001
I prepared everything and threw in in a slow cooker for the day. We had a LUAU. 39 pcs. of chicken it was fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxhavenfarm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
I made the Caribbean coconut chicken this weekend for 6 people and while the sauce was really terrific the chicken breasts didn't absorb the sauce and were dry and tasteless. I think it should be prepared with chicken cutlets or legs instead of breasts or certainly really pound the breasts thin first. iris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This was a great change-up to our regular chicken dinners! I had wanted to use something with coconut milk! I also read the other reviews, and changed just a bit -- I sauted minced garlic in canola oil before adding the chicken to the pan - I also used red and orange peppers (out of green!) so this was great color! I also added crushed pineapple to the mix (when adding the coconut milk) and it was a great compliment to the coconut! After the chicken and sauce cooked in the oven, I added sliced almonds to the top of the dish - they browned as the mixture cooked, and it was a great added touch! I also used Lawry's seasoning salt on the chicken as it cooked - it seemed to need a little salt for our taste! Overall - a really great change of pace! I served it over jasmine rice (sticky rice as the kids call it!) Forgot to mention - we only used about 1/4 cup chopped onion - and the pineapple I added, was about 1/2 can crushed pineapple. No pepper flakes for this crew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
When cooking with coconut milk, you have to keep in mind that the longer it cooks, it will loose flavor and become greasy. So I used to coconut milk as I would when preparing a Thai curry...use half to start and add the last half at right before its done. That being said, the recipe was still a little bit bland for me. Based on other suggestions, I ended up adding some lime juice and cilantro to punch it up a little. That made the flavors a but more complex, but I was still hoping for something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
My husband and I both really liked this and my house smelled wonderful! I made a lot of changes based on a lot of the other reviews. I marinated put black and red pepper,and garlic powder on each chicken breast then covered with 1 can of lite coconut milk for several hours.(next time I would cut the chicken up first instead of leaving the breast whole) browned the chicken then cut up into pieces- in another skillet I sauted green chiles and finely chopped ginger along with the onions and peppers.Then added brocolli and baby corn. once the chicken was browned I added the saute from the other skillet and added another can of lite coconut milk and about 1/2 c. pineapple juice.Added chopped cilantro and more red pepper (we like our food spicy!) let everything simmer for about 20 minutes.added cornstarch to thicken the sauce a bit served over jasmine rice and topped with sliced almonds- it was a perfect sweet and spicy combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This has to be one of my very favourite recipes from this website. I did take the advice of other reviewer's and used the whole can of coconut milk and after i transferred the chicken and peppers into the 9x13 i kept the sauce in the pan and thickened it slightly with some corn starch. I also rubbed the chicken with some roasted garlic and salt and pepper prior to browning the meat. The flavours were delicious and my company raved about it. I will definately serve this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
Excellent! Served mine with lime and a side of coconut rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I cooked this for my hunny on V-day. I def. didn't let it bake for 45min. It was in the oven for about 25-30min and that was almost too long. This was a great recipe for an exotic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BISODER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Budd Lake, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Frisco, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States