Caribbean Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This is an good recipe, but I thought it could use some additions. I used a whole can of coconut milk rather than half and added sesame oil, fresh ginger, jalapeno pepper, fresh lime juice and cilantro, which turned good into extraordinary!! Also, I did not put it in the oven. I browned the chicken really well (I used thighs and breasts)and then removed it from skillet to saute the vegetables. I added the chicken back with the vegetables and coconut milk and finished cooking it on top of the stove. I think I would cut the chicken in bite sized pieces the next time. Serve over rice. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This dish is very tasty however, I would do some things differently next time. Instead of adding 7 oz of coconut milk, I will use a full can to create more sauce. Secondly, I didn't think it was necessary to bake it for 45 min., 10 min. was enough. This dish taste great over a bed of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2001
I prepared everything and threw in in a slow cooker for the day. We had a LUAU. 39 pcs. of chicken it was fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxhavenfarm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
I made the Caribbean coconut chicken this weekend for 6 people and while the sauce was really terrific the chicken breasts didn't absorb the sauce and were dry and tasteless. I think it should be prepared with chicken cutlets or legs instead of breasts or certainly really pound the breasts thin first. iris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This was a great change-up to our regular chicken dinners! I had wanted to use something with coconut milk! I also read the other reviews, and changed just a bit -- I sauted minced garlic in canola oil before adding the chicken to the pan - I also used red and orange peppers (out of green!) so this was great color! I also added crushed pineapple to the mix (when adding the coconut milk) and it was a great compliment to the coconut! After the chicken and sauce cooked in the oven, I added sliced almonds to the top of the dish - they browned as the mixture cooked, and it was a great added touch! I also used Lawry's seasoning salt on the chicken as it cooked - it seemed to need a little salt for our taste! Overall - a really great change of pace! I served it over jasmine rice (sticky rice as the kids call it!) Forgot to mention - we only used about 1/4 cup chopped onion - and the pineapple I added, was about 1/2 can crushed pineapple. No pepper flakes for this crew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
When cooking with coconut milk, you have to keep in mind that the longer it cooks, it will loose flavor and become greasy. So I used to coconut milk as I would when preparing a Thai curry...use half to start and add the last half at right before its done. That being said, the recipe was still a little bit bland for me. Based on other suggestions, I ended up adding some lime juice and cilantro to punch it up a little. That made the flavors a but more complex, but I was still hoping for something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This has to be one of my very favourite recipes from this website. I did take the advice of other reviewer's and used the whole can of coconut milk and after i transferred the chicken and peppers into the 9x13 i kept the sauce in the pan and thickened it slightly with some corn starch. I also rubbed the chicken with some roasted garlic and salt and pepper prior to browning the meat. The flavours were delicious and my company raved about it. I will definately serve this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
My husband and I both really liked this and my house smelled wonderful! I made a lot of changes based on a lot of the other reviews. I marinated put black and red pepper,and garlic powder on each chicken breast then covered with 1 can of lite coconut milk for several hours.(next time I would cut the chicken up first instead of leaving the breast whole) browned the chicken then cut up into pieces- in another skillet I sauted green chiles and finely chopped ginger along with the onions and peppers.Then added brocolli and baby corn. once the chicken was browned I added the saute from the other skillet and added another can of lite coconut milk and about 1/2 c. pineapple juice.Added chopped cilantro and more red pepper (we like our food spicy!) let everything simmer for about 20 minutes.added cornstarch to thicken the sauce a bit served over jasmine rice and topped with sliced almonds- it was a perfect sweet and spicy combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
Excellent! Served mine with lime and a side of coconut rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I cooked this for my hunny on V-day. I def. didn't let it bake for 45min. It was in the oven for about 25-30min and that was almost too long. This was a great recipe for an exotic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BISODER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Budd Lake, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Frisco, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States