Caribbean Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
Instead of the crushed red pepper I included about 2 teaspoons of fresh grated ginger and 2 tablespoons of fresh cilantro. It gave it a wonderful fresh flavor. I also don't understand why this recipe suggests baking it for 45 minutes. I just stirred it all together on the stove top and let it cook down a bit before serving and it was great! I served it over rice and my husband loved it. He went back for seconds. Not sure if kids would like the tropical flavors but I thought it was a wonderful new way to use chicken. This one is definitely getting made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
This tastes wonderful! The only thing that surprised me is that I expected the sauce to be thick. For me, it was runny. I garnished the chicken with a few spinkles of shredded coconut. We'll definitely have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2001
I prepared everything and threw in in a slow cooker for the day. We had a LUAU. 39 pcs. of chicken it was fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxhavenfarm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Pretty easy, but a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
I thought this recipe was delicious. I added toasted coconut before serving. I also used 6 pieces chicken breasts and there was plenty of sauce. Great over rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
Oh Man!! This is GREAT!!!! I can't believe how good this turned out.. Way to Go!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
I had A whole bunch over for dinner, and it was my first huge dinner that I had to cook, It turned out wonderful! Everyone loved it, now I cook it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
This is definately an exotic dish and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
Lovely. I used drums instead of breasts and doubled - yum! practically makes itself :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
I made the Caribbean coconut chicken this weekend for 6 people and while the sauce was really terrific the chicken breasts didn't absorb the sauce and were dry and tasteless. I think it should be prepared with chicken cutlets or legs instead of breasts or certainly really pound the breasts thin first. iris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States