Caribbean Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I have used this site for years but have never written a review before. I decided to do so now because this recipe was great and unfortunately received so much bad rap. I followed some advice from some previous reviewers and here's what I came up with to make a killer recipe: I sauteed one green bell pepper, 1/2 yellow onion, garlic and one tsp ginger until tender. Then I added an entire can of coconut milk and two cans of cooked chicken breast - drained, cubed (ghetto, I know but that's all I had on hand and was in too much of a hurry to thaw some chicken). While all was simmering I added about two tbsp of chopped cilantro and 1/4 cup of toasted coconut. Then added two tbsp of lime juice. Simmer about 5 minutes total and then mix in four chopped maraschino cherries and top with some toasted almond slivers. YUM! Only four stars because it's very white on a plate and looks boring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Flavor was okay, way too many red and green peppers, it overpowered the flavor of the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PacNWCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I'm not a coconut fan, but something about this recipe looked really good. And for all intents and purposes, it was. I read about 30 reviews before I decided to make this, so I didn't make it exactly as written. I sauteed the garlic first, and added in a teaspoon of minced ginger. I cubed the chicken, cooked it in the garlic/ginger, added salt and pepper for additional flavor, then set it aside. I added one diced habenaro to the peppers and onions, and sauteed those as indicated. I added the juice of one lime with the veggies. From there, I added 14 oz of coconut milk and the chicken to the veggies. I simmered the dish on medium low for 20 minutes instead of baking. Right before serving, I thickened the sauce, and served it over rice. My wife, who is pregnant and extremely picky about flavors right now, loved it. I thought it needed a little more heat, and I had to add salt, which I expected since I didn't want to overpower my wife's taste buds. Overall, very tasty for a coconut dish. Add shredded coconut for a more robust flavor since coconut milk is very mild. This goes into the recipe book, but it's not a "make it every week" dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
When cooking with coconut milk, you have to keep in mind that the longer it cooks, it will loose flavor and become greasy. So I used to coconut milk as I would when preparing a Thai curry...use half to start and add the last half at right before its done. That being said, the recipe was still a little bit bland for me. Based on other suggestions, I ended up adding some lime juice and cilantro to punch it up a little. That made the flavors a but more complex, but I was still hoping for something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Doubled the coconut milk and the flavor was good, but I thought that it needed alot of salt or it was too bland. I added lime juice and fresh cilantro as well. It still seemed to need a little something. Will make again with some more variations and see if I can get it to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
this was so good but i did make some changes i browned the chicken with garlic and vegtible base and a tbs of soy souce i added a whole can of coconut milk and simmered it on the stove. i stir fried the veggies and served with noodles very very good ( i did not have rice)i will save this recipe and make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
First off, let me say I feel really bad about writing this. However, I feel that this is what these reviews are intended for. I found this recipe terrible!! That’s really saying a lot for me. My husband calls me “unusually unpicky”, meaning that I like practically everything I eat. It was overly “peppery” and the coconut milk could not even be tasted. My 8 year old asked if we were having enchiladas for dinner….that’s how overpowering the peppers were. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNDA L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This recipe was a little bland for my taste. I added a few items to spruce it up. I like the caribbean flare so I added some brown sugar, ginger, cilantro, pineapple, coconut, sliced almonds and some marachino cherries. I also added some brocolli to it. I didn't put it in the oven, I did it all stove top in a skillet. I put it on brown rice.....EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaNae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
The overall dish was good, but I couldn't get the sauce where I liked it. It was a little too bland. Maybe that was because I used light coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This one goes into our rotation! My husband especially loved it, he has asked for it several times since I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States