Caribbean Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I have used this site for years but have never written a review before. I decided to do so now because this recipe was great and unfortunately received so much bad rap. I followed some advice from some previous reviewers and here's what I came up with to make a killer recipe: I sauteed one green bell pepper, 1/2 yellow onion, garlic and one tsp ginger until tender. Then I added an entire can of coconut milk and two cans of cooked chicken breast - drained, cubed (ghetto, I know but that's all I had on hand and was in too much of a hurry to thaw some chicken). While all was simmering I added about two tbsp of chopped cilantro and 1/4 cup of toasted coconut. Then added two tbsp of lime juice. Simmer about 5 minutes total and then mix in four chopped maraschino cherries and top with some toasted almond slivers. YUM! Only four stars because it's very white on a plate and looks boring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Flavor was okay, way too many red and green peppers, it overpowered the flavor of the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PacNWCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I'm not a coconut fan, but something about this recipe looked really good. And for all intents and purposes, it was. I read about 30 reviews before I decided to make this, so I didn't make it exactly as written. I sauteed the garlic first, and added in a teaspoon of minced ginger. I cubed the chicken, cooked it in the garlic/ginger, added salt and pepper for additional flavor, then set it aside. I added one diced habenaro to the peppers and onions, and sauteed those as indicated. I added the juice of one lime with the veggies. From there, I added 14 oz of coconut milk and the chicken to the veggies. I simmered the dish on medium low for 20 minutes instead of baking. Right before serving, I thickened the sauce, and served it over rice. My wife, who is pregnant and extremely picky about flavors right now, loved it. I thought it needed a little more heat, and I had to add salt, which I expected since I didn't want to overpower my wife's taste buds. Overall, very tasty for a coconut dish. Add shredded coconut for a more robust flavor since coconut milk is very mild. This goes into the recipe book, but it's not a "make it every week" dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
When cooking with coconut milk, you have to keep in mind that the longer it cooks, it will loose flavor and become greasy. So I used to coconut milk as I would when preparing a Thai curry...use half to start and add the last half at right before its done. That being said, the recipe was still a little bit bland for me. Based on other suggestions, I ended up adding some lime juice and cilantro to punch it up a little. That made the flavors a but more complex, but I was still hoping for something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Doubled the coconut milk and the flavor was good, but I thought that it needed alot of salt or it was too bland. I added lime juice and fresh cilantro as well. It still seemed to need a little something. Will make again with some more variations and see if I can get it to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
this was so good but i did make some changes i browned the chicken with garlic and vegtible base and a tbs of soy souce i added a whole can of coconut milk and simmered it on the stove. i stir fried the veggies and served with noodles very very good ( i did not have rice)i will save this recipe and make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
First off, let me say I feel really bad about writing this. However, I feel that this is what these reviews are intended for. I found this recipe terrible!! That’s really saying a lot for me. My husband calls me “unusually unpicky”, meaning that I like practically everything I eat. It was overly “peppery” and the coconut milk could not even be tasted. My 8 year old asked if we were having enchiladas for dinner….that’s how overpowering the peppers were. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNDA L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This recipe was a little bland for my taste. I added a few items to spruce it up. I like the caribbean flare so I added some brown sugar, ginger, cilantro, pineapple, coconut, sliced almonds and some marachino cherries. I also added some brocolli to it. I didn't put it in the oven, I did it all stove top in a skillet. I put it on brown rice.....EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaNae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
The overall dish was good, but I couldn't get the sauce where I liked it. It was a little too bland. Maybe that was because I used light coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This one goes into our rotation! My husband especially loved it, he has asked for it several times since I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States