Caribbean Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
The dressing has a strong mustardy flavor. I would suggest reducing it by about half if you choose to try the recipe. It was certainly edible, but not one we will be making again. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
We loved this! A fresh genre-bender for days when your not sure what type of food yr in the mood for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Excellent! Spicy and Sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Awesome summer salad! I didn't have pineapple so I used diced peaches and it was awesome! I'd order this in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaddleClub09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This recipe was absolutely fabulous. I added a diced orange bell pepper for a little more color. The dressing was so delicious and went well with the teriyaki chicken. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I was looking for a light, fresh, spring-like salad as an entree and this fit the bill perfectly. My only suggestions are to be sure to marinate the chicken in a teriyaki sauce. The one I used was pineapple/teriyaki and it gave the chicken the perfect flavor to accompany the other ingredients. When I make this again, I'm going to use a fresh pineapple for more flavor. I'd also suggest using a purple onion. Like other reviews, I only used about 1/2 the amt. of sugar and used about a scant 1/4 cup of the pineapple juice too. Didn't think it was too sweet at all. Not too sure you need as many tortilla chips (or any, really).My husband and I both really enjoyed this salad and it will certainly go into my 'favorites' folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
We had a Caribbean themed Christmas last year. Dish went over okay from what I heard but personally, I was not a fan. Salad had a little too much going on. I would definitely niche the honey mustard. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This was a fantastic salad, both me and my husband loved it. I would have never thought to put bold flavors like chicken teriyaki, salsa and honey-mustard-vinaigrette dressing together, but this really works. I would probably use just a half jalapeno in the salsa next time though, as it was too spicy for me, but my husband who loves spice, loved it. We also had about 3/4 cup of dressing left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
A somewhat interesting but rather confusing dish... is it Mexican? Caribbean? The combination of pico de gallo, sweet honey mustard dressing,, tortilla chips and pineapple were somewhat of a clash... still it tasted OK. However the honey mustard dressing was too sweet. Maybe leave out the sugar, use less honey, or add more vinegar and/or lime juice. It could use a bit more oil, too, to give it a better 'mouth feel'. The jalapenos were intense, but putting the pico de gallo sparingly on top of the greens was the trick to not overpowering the dish with the chilis. Next time I'll toss the greens lightly in the dressing first, as well as just drizzling it on top, as the recipe calls for. Lastly, I grilled fresh pineapple right along with my chicken, which added tremendously to the dish. Overall this was an easy recipe to make, but I recommend adjusting the dressing and leaving out the tortilla chips altogether. A better choice would be to serve plantain chips on the side, not on the salad itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I had high hopes for this one! I think it could use a little work... mainly on the dressing, as the mustard flavor was quite intense. I may play around with different seasoning ingredients for the salsa, but appreciated the freshness both the salsa and pineapple provided. I forgot to pick up chips for this, but I am unconvinced that would've done much toward liking this anymore overall...I did add some chopped macademia nuts I had on hand, which was nice. --Better luck next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States