Caribbean Chicken Grill with Pineapple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I made the full amount of marinade and pineapple salad for just two chicken breast halves. I used brown sugar for the white, used a mix of red and orange bell pepper, and I subbed parsley for the cilantro. I reserved some of the marinade to use as a basting sauce and marinated my chicken for about 1 1/2 hours before grilling. Even though I had hoped the basting would add flavor, both Hubs and I thought the chicken was sort of bland. The pineapple salad, however, was quite good, although I think it would have been much, much better with fresh pineapple. I might compare this to other similar recipes and see if it can be improved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
We liked this, and it was a great opener to summer for our grilling season! I used fresh pineapple, so I had to make up the juice, and used regular canned juice that I had on hand. I am sure glad I used that fresh pineapple - it didn't matter for the marinade, but it was fantastic in the salad! Next time, I would marinate longer, and probably poke the chicken with a fork before marinating the make sure that delicious flavor really permeated the main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Wow! This is good stuff! Very fresh and packed with flavor. Only difference is I doubled the pineapple salad ingredients (which I find is much like a fruit salsa, it tastes great with corn chips) and the marinade. I also used semi-fresh pineapple (the kind in jar in refrigerated section of store) cutting the cubes into 1/2 inch pieces. Loved the salad on top of the chicken so you get a little bit with every bite of chicken. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I followed the directions exactly except I did not use canned pineapple because I didn't have any. I did however have fresh pineapple. Because fresh does not have that 1 cup of liquid the marinade asks for I popped some of the fresh pineapple into my food processor and made a cup of pureed pineapple to take the place for the juice. It worked decently. Grilled on my indoor grill. Be sure to clean out the ribs and seeds of the jalapeno well for the pineapple salad or it will have bite! SO good! Will make this again! I just loved the salad over the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly....mostly. I did do like another reviewer suggested and reduced the marinade and then added about a tsp of corn starch to 1/4 cup orange juice and mixed it into the marinade. I loved the Pineapple Salad, which is really more like a pineapple salsa, my daughter and husband weren't fans, but my son was. I did pulse it a couple times in the food processor to break up the chunks. This will absolutely be on the menu in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
We made the recipe as is. I thought the chicken was a little bland even though we marinated it overnight. The pineapple salad was good but I think it would have been better with fresh pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Fabulous! The longer you marinate it, the better the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
These were wonderful! Tender and juicy...I marinated for about an hour. Next time I will marinate longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This was so yummy!!! We grilled the pineapple too and then served as tacos on warm corn tortillas and ice cold beer! A FAVORITE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! I pretty much double the amount of the salsa...Extra spices, 2 cans pineapple, and used 1 green, orange, yellow and red pepper for extra flavor. I also omitted the sugar...Served it for a dinner party of 6, and it was a hit! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States