Caribbean Chicken Grill with Pineapple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Sorry, but for me the pineapple salad just didn't work...too sweet. I won't make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
To be honest, I never tried the recipe "as is" so I'm not sure that I am qualified to give it a star rating... However, the dish that this recipe inspired was fabulous! We used a 1.25 lb swordfish steak instead of chicken; a can of pineapple rings instead of chunks (the large can, so extra juice, but only used about 3/4 of the juice in the marinade); 3 garlic cloves crushed into the marinade and the juice of one lime; olive oil instead of Crisco(R); we roasted a whole red pepper black, then peeled it and diced the entire thing into the salad; we grilled one small onion sliced and all the pineapple rings, then chopped the onion and all but 4 pineapple rings into chunks and put them in the salad (the reserved rings were eaten as snacks and used for garnish); We used one small serrano chile, roasted black, peeled, seeded, chopped into the salad. Then we served the fish with the salad relish on top on a plate with carribean baked black beans (added orange juice, garlic, cumin and honey mustard to the beans) and a wild rice/brown rice blend sauteed before adding cooking water, in olive oil with cumin and cinnamon until wild rice roasted, then added the remaining pineapple juice to the cooking water. We then garnished the plates with low-salt roasted peanuts and cilantro. Awesome tasting and visually beautiful meal. Fried plantains on the side would have been a lovely addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! I pretty much double the amount of the salsa...Extra spices, 2 cans pineapple, and used 1 green, orange, yellow and red pepper for extra flavor. I also omitted the sugar...Served it for a dinner party of 6, and it was a hit! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
This is wonderful! The only changes we made were to double the amount of pineapple (to allow for massive quantities of pre-dinner tasting)and set aside 2 Tbsp. of the marinade to add to the pineapple. Since the rain here in SoCal hasn't been conducive to grilling, the broiler worked just fine. Can't wait to try it on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly....mostly. I did do like another reviewer suggested and reduced the marinade and then added about a tsp of corn starch to 1/4 cup orange juice and mixed it into the marinade. I loved the Pineapple Salad, which is really more like a pineapple salsa, my daughter and husband weren't fans, but my son was. I did pulse it a couple times in the food processor to break up the chunks. This will absolutely be on the menu in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This was so yummy!!! We grilled the pineapple too and then served as tacos on warm corn tortillas and ice cold beer! A FAVORITE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Wow! This is so good! The only thing I did different was used fresh pineapple and added fresh mangoes to the pineapple salad. I served it with rice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
These were wonderful! Tender and juicy...I marinated for about an hour. Next time I will marinate longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Great recipe! I like lots of flavor so I used more pineapple & basically tripled all of the marinade ingredients, I also used two large jalapeno peppers in the salad instead of one small. I reserved the marinade while the chicken was grilling & reduced it by half in a sauce pan & added cornstarch. After straining it drizzle a little over the chicken. This is very pretty & colorful dish, I served it with cilantro rice. This would be an easy dish that looks & tastes great for company, I will make it again (soon)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Fabulous! The longer you marinate it, the better the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States