Caribbean Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
TO correct the typo in the recipe, I used 1 tsp. of vanilla instead of the 1 tbsp. of rum as was instructed. I added more pineapple and coconut also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Corrected directions to include the rum extract called for in the original submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
these were really good! I didn't have dried pineapple on hand, so I went without it.. still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I'm always looking for ways to use up ripe bananas...these were really moist and I liked the taste of the coconut and pineapple. Next time I think I'll increase the pineapple to at least 3/4 cup and add some diced maraschino cherries. Following the recipe exactly I ended up with 18 nice sized muffins. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
These muffins were very good! I left the rum extract out by mistake, and used 3/4 cup fresh pineapple, instead of dried. I'll use more next time! Also, the reviewer that pointed this out was right - the recipe makes 18 muffins, not 12 (we definitely didn't mind!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I thought this was an innovative muffin recipe so I tried it out. I did change a couple of things: I dont like shredded coconut much so I omitted it except for using a little as a garnish on the tops. Instead, I substituted the rum flavoring(also something I dont care for) for an equal amount of coconut extract. I also substituted the same amount of puree'd canned pinapple for the dried. They came out heavenly. Next time I make them, I will increase the bananas to four as I think it would make them even more moist and dense. Also, I didnt have butter on hand the first time so I used margarine which I WOULD NOT recommend doing-I was lucky they still came out despite that mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butter-Bug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arnaudville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Raymond loved these muffins. They were light, moist and the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This recipe turned out moist and tasty! However, I had to alter the recipe: I used margarine instead of butter because we were out of butter. I used 1/2 tablespoon of VANILLA extract instead of 1 Tbsp of rum, I used 2 large bananas instead of 3 medium, I used 3/4 cup of sweetened, shredded coconut because that's all we had, and instead of dried pineapple I used 1/2 cup drained canned pineapple tidbits. I will make this recipe again, still with my alterations-however I will use butter next time for a richer flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was a great and easy recipe. Instead of muffins, I made a cake in a 13x9 pan. Silly me, I forgot the baking soda, and the cake still turned out and was delicious. Granted, it was a bit more dense than cake, more like bread or pound cake consistency, but it still received rave reviews. It was moist and flavorful. I made a crumble for the top out of butter, mixed spices, oats, shredded coconut, and brown sugar. It complimented the cake really well and added a nice, contrasting texture. I find it difficult to find good recipes with true carribean flavors, but this one is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Although I am not a big fan of muffins, I had all ingredients on hand and decided to try these while family was in town. They were excellent and everyone loved them. I used 1 c mixed dried tropical fruit, and substituted vanilla for rum. Especially liked the nice large size and the dense moist texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States