Carib Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
This is a very good recipe. I'm sure dried beans are the way to go but I was in a hurry so used 5 c of canned, 7 cups of stock (I prob. should have used only 6 c)and simmered for about 40 minutes. I reduced the soy sauce because my beans were salty even after rinsing. The celery leaves add a nice flavour and the sherry gives a wonderful depth of flavour - don't leave it out. My only complaint is the cayenne - I think half a tsp tasted harsh although it did mellow out by the next day. Next time I will either halve the amount or eliminate it and add hot sauce to taste just before serving. I see that William has published several other soup recipes, I look forward to trying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I made this for a Caribbean themed dinner party and it was amazing! Definitely a keeper. I used dry beans as suggested, but used vegetable broth instead of chicken because some of my guests were vegetarian. As some others suggested I only pureed half of it. I agree that it might not need two 2 cups of water - I think I'd like it to be thicker next time. Delicious though, and my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Ben making this recipe for a couple of years. I reduce the liquid to a total of 6 cups and eliminate the sherry because I don't usually have it on hand, but otherwise prepare as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
We did not really take a liking to the flavor here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Very good soup. I did not follow directions...I added the balsamic vinegar, and soy sauce with the rest of the ingredients and I think I would do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Really good recipe. I followed this exactly except for the 2 cups of water .... I thought I would add water if needed. when the soup was "done" I felt it needed a bit more kick so I added more cumin and a sprinkle of cayenne. It was much better (for my taste) then I added a half pound of leftover Christmas dinner smoked ham. I loved it!!! But the original recipe was followed and I rated it based on that tasting before adding anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Excellent really. Followed the recipe, minus the celery because... well it's celery. Otherwise, this has been perfect. Kept the liquid because I ate it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
yummy. added shredded chicken and cooked in pressure cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I made this exactly written except for the fact that I didn't have any sherry. I substituted dry vermouth. I read all the reviews and opted to keep the 2 cups of water. I'm glad I did. If you serve it over rice (as you would gumbo), then the extra liquid is a good thing, but we thought it was also good without any rice. I used an immersion blender so I would still have some of the beans for texture. The flavor is wonderful. My husband and adult son both loved it, especially with a dollop of sour cream on top. I will definitely make this again. Best black bean soup I've ever had. UPDATE: If you use the quick-soak method for the dried black beans instead of the overnight method, the beans will be softer. I find I prefer using dried if I have time, but 4 cans of beans work fine as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States