Carib Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I love soups, especially when I can freeze some servings. I increased the quantities (my pkg of beans was a bit bigger) but tried to keep the ratio of the ingredients. I was also afraid the freezing would lose the hint of the sherry, but it didn't! I found it easier to use a hand blender to puree the soup directly in the pot. This left some very tasty bits in the soup. Hearty comfort stuff! Thank you W Anatooskin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 23, 2001
Great recipe!! It was a hit with cuban sandwiches! You can also use the quick-soak method for the beans; boil in water for 2 minutes then soak for 1 hr. Then, rinse and use as if you soaked overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
Very good taste! Note: I pureed only a portion of the beans because I could see the soup would be nothing but creamy, and decided I would not puree the beans at all next time I make it--I like having textured black bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
When I blended this soup fully (reason: cooked celery chunks) and added 1/3 cup sugar, which balanced all the heat and spices, it became the best soup I'd ever made. Garnish with a little chopped cilantro instead of sour cream. WHAT a delectable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
My husband can't stop raving about this soup. I made mine with canned beans, but I can't wait to try it with dried beans. It was sooooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I increased this recipe to accomidate the two bags of beans (4 cups) I had to purchase. The soup was a hit at the office party and I froze 1/4 of it for myself. One recommendation: hold down the lid on your blender with extra strength if you are not use to using a blender...this soup is not fun to clean off the walls, floor, fridge, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
This soup is a crowd pleaser- and my two year old LOVED it! Even with extra cooking my beans didn't completely soften which was not a problem after I blended the entire batch. I completely prepared the soup a day early and then set it in a crock pot before we headed out to the pumpkin patch. When we returned a few hours later, the house smelled wonderful and the soup pleased everyone. It is so tasty that we will be having it again soon. Thanks! Update: It is Oct 23, 2008, five years (to the day) after my first review of this soup. We are having it tonight. It is truly a family favorite- a staple of our fall and winter meal plan. It is a great kid-pleaser. BTW, my beans didn't soften up tonight either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This soup is the BEST I EVER COOKED!!!!! This was my first time cooking it and it came out so darn good that I hurt myself eating 2 LARGE bowls. The beans took over 6 hours to cook, but well worth the time spent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This one is a keeper. I saved some beans and vegetables, but pureed most of the soup. The consistency was excellent, almost creamy. I skipped the soy sauce since I used canned beans and they have plenty of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This was delicious! I ran out of sherry and used jack daniels instead, very yummy. Also, served it with sour cream, green and red onion, and grilled and sliced turkey keilbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States