Carib Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2000
I like this reecipe a lot, but with a few changes: 1.) Only add water if necessary 2.) Use canned black beans 3.) Reserve some black beans to add back to the pot after puree-ing (it adds a nicer texture, I think) 4.) Add a few dashes of green Tabasco sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2001
Great recipe!! It was a hit with cuban sandwiches! You can also use the quick-soak method for the beans; boil in water for 2 minutes then soak for 1 hr. Then, rinse and use as if you soaked overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
Very good taste! Note: I pureed only a portion of the beans because I could see the soup would be nothing but creamy, and decided I would not puree the beans at all next time I make it--I like having textured black bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
When I blended this soup fully (reason: cooked celery chunks) and added 1/3 cup sugar, which balanced all the heat and spices, it became the best soup I'd ever made. Garnish with a little chopped cilantro instead of sour cream. WHAT a delectable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
This soup is terrible!!! I spend FOREVER making it. The flavor is like a cheap shot. Add sherry and cayenne to give it a kick because the soup is flavorless otherwise. YUCK! So not worth my time cooking it or the money I spent to make it! PASS THIS ONE UP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
We had a "tropical" dinner party and served this soup with a salad and coconut chicken. Everyone LOVED the soup. It was so easy to put together, too. Just throw everything in the pan and let it cook!! I used canned black beans instead and it made it even easier. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
My husband can't stop raving about this soup. I made mine with canned beans, but I can't wait to try it with dried beans. It was sooooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Overall, we really liked this soup. I made a few changes and we liked it better this way: 1. I used three cans of black beans-do not rinse. 2. I added all the spices and liquids together, plus 1 1/2 t. liquid smoke as it was cooking. 4. I used homemade chicken stock-four cups, no water. And I did add the two cans of ham-do not drain. 5. I did not even blend it and it turned out great. 6. I think part of what we liked about this soup is that I also added 1 cup of chopped, fresh parsley, as the other vegatables were being sauted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I increased this recipe to accomidate the two bags of beans (4 cups) I had to purchase. The soup was a hit at the office party and I froze 1/4 of it for myself. One recommendation: hold down the lid on your blender with extra strength if you are not use to using a blender...this soup is not fun to clean off the walls, floor, fridge, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This is a great base recipes. I did some substituting and additions. First of all I added lots of flavor using a 4.5lb picnic ham (bone in) to cook and soften my beans. The ham was simply delicious after the cooking was finished. I also used a variety of hot peppers to give it some more pizzaz. I omited the sherry and used more chicken broth to the stock. All and all this recipe was very good to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States