Carib Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
We really liked the complex flavors of this black bean soup. We added a few jalapenos for added spice and some extra garlic as we can never have enough. Served with some cheddar cheese sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
this is close to mine, you can eliminate the balsamic vinegar,soy and sherry(sherry does add a nice touch butdont make an extra trip to store if sherryless)a dollop of sour cream is mandatory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natasha376

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
The flavor is incredible! This had my husband longing for his tropical homeland of Brazil. Easy and healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeusaCozinheira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
A really good black bean soup. I pureed the entire dish because I like the silky texture. I did add some salt since I cooked my black beans without any salt added and it has a little too much cayenne for my taste. With these adjustments I think it will be a five star. Serving suggestions: a mound of rice in the middle of the bowl, some drained plain yogurt (for thicker texture) and onions, or perhaps in a "bread bowl." Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I only pureed a small amount of mine because we all liked the texture of the beans. The flavor was great and it was perfect with slices of radish, a few sprigs of cilantro and a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celeste

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Very Very good soup, I used canned black beans though. I also added 1/2 Red Bell Pepper, 1/2 Red Onion, and i pulse blended the celery with 1 1/2 aji cachucha peppers. I will definitely make this again. the only thing i would do differently is use 3 cans instead of 2 cans of beans. The next time i made this the only thing i changed was the amount of water/broth. i just used 2 cups of chicken stock with 2 cans of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rmolledo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This was o.k., but I'll keep searching for another black bean soup recipe. I used dried beans and soaked them for almost 24 hours before cooking them, and they still didn't soften. Next time I'll bring them to a brief boil and let them sit. I ended up having to puree the entire batch with my hand blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This soup is so aromatic and so good! I did add salt and a little more cayanne at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Serve with chopped cilantro, tomato, onion and sour cream. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kreativekuisine
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
First of all, I used canned black beans. In the soup I added a little more cumin & cayenne pepper. I added some chili powder that the recipe didn't call for, but I didn't use any sherry. I didn't bother blending the ingredients, but just mashed some of the beans while it was in the pot. I served this soup with ensalada de cebollas (onion salad) which consisted of tomatoes, onions, cilantro, lime juice, and a little salt. I also had rice with mixed vegetables. This is a very good recipe that tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kreativekuisine

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States