Carib Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Good but way too much work for just a good meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
great recipe...doctored it a little by adding half a bunch of chopped cilantro and 3-4 chopped sweet potatoes. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Needs work. Added LOTS more cumin, should have used less balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitLoops

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This soup is exquisitely fantastic. I used Better Than Bouillon ham base + water in place of the chicken broth. This is certain to become a family favorite. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Fantastic soup. For added flavor I cooked the vegetables in bacon fat instead of olive oil and omitted the 2 cups of water. I will definitely make this again. I served the soup with brown rice, sour cream, and green onions. Loving it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I loved this soup - family thought it was OK. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Soup was too sweet for my taste. Other than omitting the sour cream, I followed the recipe (using canned beans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Made this last night. Technically, it's meatless, but I used a hambone for added flavor. I cut the cayenne in half, added dried mushrooms, and use half chicken broth/half vegeteble broth (leftovers in the frig). I also used leftover red onion, doubled garlic, added 1/2 t. cumin more (love cumin). Didn't have celery; subbed celery seed (1/2 t.) We served over brown rice with a dallop of sour cream. Def do this o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I wanted to like this soup--I love bean soup in general-- but I couldn't get past the soy sauce. I normally like the flavor but it didn't work for me here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
We really liked the complex flavors of this black bean soup. We added a few jalapenos for added spice and some extra garlic as we can never have enough. Served with some cheddar cheese sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States