Carib Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
yummy. added shredded chicken and cooked in pressure cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I made this exactly written except for the fact that I didn't have any sherry. I substituted dry vermouth. I read all the reviews and opted to keep the 2 cups of water. I'm glad I did. If you serve it over rice (as you would gumbo), then the extra liquid is a good thing, but we thought it was also good without any rice. I used an immersion blender so I would still have some of the beans for texture. The flavor is wonderful. My husband and adult son both loved it, especially with a dollop of sour cream on top. I will definitely make this again. Best black bean soup I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
It's an ok soup, almost an eclectic twist to it. Not the nice, thick, robust Cuban black bean soup I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Absolutely delicious. Followed recipe as written starting with dried beans. Had to cook a little longer than stated in recipe. I used a submersion blender to puree some but not all the beans. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe, William!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Splendid! Made exactly as written except used veggie stock in place of chicken broth, left out the sherry and used just one TBSP vinegar -- garnished with thinly sliced green onions and red bell pepper for a fantastic vegan dinner main course -- definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is a good one. Next time I make it I'll try adding the flaked ham because I thought it needed a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
this is a wonderful recipe! I substituted 4 teaspoons of vanilla extract for the sherry; felt a bit scared the first time I made it because of the odd combination of ingredients, but this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This soup was awesome! I used the dry beans. I also read the other reviews and only pureed half of the mixture and left half of the beans in the soup and also eliminated the two cups of water. I like having some beans in the soup rather than it being all liquid. I made it for a tailgate party and everyone loved it. It has a little kick to it, which was the perfect amount of spice. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I love this soup. I love MAKING this soup! Rich, hearty, a bit of spice...my husband loves it too. Sometimes, I add a bit of chipotle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States