Cardamom Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Although I followed the baking instructions and only baked them for 60 minutes, they burned on the bottom. I had successfully tried the Peppermint Meringues from this website the day before, but they cooked at a lower temperature, 225 deg. for 90 minutes. The cardamom flavor was extremely subtle, hardly discernable. The meringues were an unattractive brown shade due to the cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Very light dessert and easy to make. I used splenda instead of sugar and it was a little too sweet. I love cardamom, but I have to admit that I'm not really sure it went well in this recipe. I think almond extract would probably go better. I used an airbake sheet and a silicone mat and had beautiful golden crisp meringues in about 75 minutes at 285 degrees (my oven runs a little cool). The texture was light and wonderful. It would make an excellent base for a layered fruit and cream dessert or to make a bowl or base for ice cream, although I would definitely decrease the sugar. The texture was less of a meringue and more of a light airy biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I followed the recipe just before the part where the cardamom is added, but instead of the cardamom I used 3/4 tsp ground cloves because I love cloves. I also adjusted the oven temp to 250 when I noticed the cookies were beginning to crack, and leaving them in for only an hour cooked them completely. While I was beating the egg whites I never did get really stiff peaks, so I tried adding 1/8 tsp cream of tartar in the hopes it would set up better, but it must have been really humid in my house because the most they could muster was a little stiffer than a soft peak, which made the cookies flat like medallions instead of pointy like kisses. They still tasted great (gourmet, even!), but next time I think I'll only add 1/2 tsp cloves because 3/4 tsp gives the cookies a little too much bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
These were interesting. I guess I don't like cardamom enough to have it as a main flavor of anything. I'm used to cooking with it in asian/Indian dishes, used as a flavor enhancer. But I guess you can use any flavoring (mint, amaretto) and get great mereingues from it. Great for a low-carb snack if you have to prepare one for a pot-luck or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YHWH Bread of Life

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
My family just didn't care for the cardamom flavoring. They said the cookies reminded them of the taste of bratwurst!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
These cookies were quick to prepare, easy to make, and fabulous! I had no problems with stickiness, although one batch was fluffier than the other. I used chocolate chips and dried cranberries for a unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I was so excited about this recipe, but the kids wouldn't even try them,and my husband didn't care for them. So I took them over to the inlaws, who said they tasted medicinal. I guess they're not my cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith LaBarbera

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
I loved this recipe it wasn't to hard, and my family likes it and want's it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
My husband is Iranian, and cardamon is a common spice among their recipes. We loved them specially with Chay (hot Iranian tea). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casandra Yaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
These actually are the first meringue I've ever made that turned out. Maybe it's because I live in FL and it's usually very humid. I will definitely make these again. Next time I will use super-fine sugar, as mine were a little gritty. Also I learned that it's best to whip the egg whites to soft peaks before adding the sugar. I left them to cool in the oven, after baking for 1hour, and they were solid throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States