Cardamom Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
I loved this recipe it wasn't to hard, and my family likes it and want's it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
I thought the cookies tasted 'different', but I couldn't stop eating them! Definitely will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
Everyone loved these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Although I followed the baking instructions and only baked them for 60 minutes, they burned on the bottom. I had successfully tried the Peppermint Meringues from this website the day before, but they cooked at a lower temperature, 225 deg. for 90 minutes. The cardamom flavor was extremely subtle, hardly discernable. The meringues were an unattractive brown shade due to the cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
My husband is Iranian, and cardamon is a common spice among their recipes. We loved them specially with Chay (hot Iranian tea). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casandra Yaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I had never eaten a merainge before this. I chose the recipe because it does not call for egg yolks or any oil. I think I overdid it on the cardamon..but more than anything I think I am just not a merainge fan. The kids claimed they did not like them, but kept munching on them. Maybe I will try a different flavor next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Quick and easy! If you love meringue cookies! Special and different enough for gift giving, but package carefully! Great with coffee or chai!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I was so excited about this recipe, but the kids wouldn't even try them,and my husband didn't care for them. So I took them over to the inlaws, who said they tasted medicinal. I guess they're not my cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith LaBarbera

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
These were interesting. I guess I don't like cardamom enough to have it as a main flavor of anything. I'm used to cooking with it in asian/Indian dishes, used as a flavor enhancer. But I guess you can use any flavoring (mint, amaretto) and get great mereingues from it. Great for a low-carb snack if you have to prepare one for a pot-luck or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YHWH Bread of Life

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Very light dessert and easy to make. I used splenda instead of sugar and it was a little too sweet. I love cardamom, but I have to admit that I'm not really sure it went well in this recipe. I think almond extract would probably go better. I used an airbake sheet and a silicone mat and had beautiful golden crisp meringues in about 75 minutes at 285 degrees (my oven runs a little cool). The texture was light and wonderful. It would make an excellent base for a layered fruit and cream dessert or to make a bowl or base for ice cream, although I would definitely decrease the sugar. The texture was less of a meringue and more of a light airy biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States