Cardamom Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This recipe was fabulous! I have made it several times, with magnificent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Unfortunately without a real mixer (besides mixing by hand with a whisk or using my food processor) I wasn't able to get the peaks needed and they stayed runny. Tried twice and threw out the mix both times. Next time I will have to buy a mixer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by docljj
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Loved this recipe but added 3/4 teaspoon vanilla instead of the cardamon. Easy to substitute a favorite spice as other reviews suggested. I made these for Halloween adding chocolate chips for "eyes" after baking. Each little "ghost" had its own special features with cracks looking like a mouth! I made each meringue with a heaping tablespoon. Baked at 275* for 60 minutes. A light, tasty treat with lots of possibilities. I had one that ended up looking like a Christmas tree, h-m-m..... think I'll add some green food coloring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I love, love, love cardamom...but I just don't know about it in a meringue. Also, the granular sugar gave them a little bit of a grainy appearance. I did cook them at 225 for 90 minutes then just left them to cool in the oven, and they were cooked perfectly. I just can't decide if I really like them or not. If you love cardamom, try them, maybe you'll like them more than me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I love cardamom, but this recipe calls for too much. The taste was overpowering. I will probably make these again, but reduce the amount to 1/2 teaspoon or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I liked the smell of the cardamom, so was hopeful about this adventure I would give it NO stars, but my friends gave it an "Interesting... like eating perfume" and would not let me throw them away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
These actually are the first meringue I've ever made that turned out. Maybe it's because I live in FL and it's usually very humid. I will definitely make these again. Next time I will use super-fine sugar, as mine were a little gritty. Also I learned that it's best to whip the egg whites to soft peaks before adding the sugar. I left them to cool in the oven, after baking for 1hour, and they were solid throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I followed the recipe just before the part where the cardamom is added, but instead of the cardamom I used 3/4 tsp ground cloves because I love cloves. I also adjusted the oven temp to 250 when I noticed the cookies were beginning to crack, and leaving them in for only an hour cooked them completely. While I was beating the egg whites I never did get really stiff peaks, so I tried adding 1/8 tsp cream of tartar in the hopes it would set up better, but it must have been really humid in my house because the most they could muster was a little stiffer than a soft peak, which made the cookies flat like medallions instead of pointy like kisses. They still tasted great (gourmet, even!), but next time I think I'll only add 1/2 tsp cloves because 3/4 tsp gives the cookies a little too much bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly and the results were really great. I love the subtle cardamom flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
My family just didn't care for the cardamom flavoring. They said the cookies reminded them of the taste of bratwurst!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States