Cardamom Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I really liked these. I did cut back on the butter by one tablespoon because I wanted them to be a little lower in fat. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because they were a little too sweet. I would cut down on the brown sugar a little next time but keep the honey because it helps it stick together. When these first come out of the oven they are soft and fall apart easily. I let them cool for about 2 hours and then cut then with a large, sharp knife on a cutting board and it worked perfectly. Oh, I used dried cranberries instead of raisins. I don't like raisins and cranberries seem to match better with cardamom anyway. I really love the flavor of these- you have to try these if you love cardamom! They are so simple to prepare too and took only a few minutes to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Fragrant, delicious, easy. Just the right amount of cardamom for me. I've tried variations with great success -- dried mangoes and coconut and banana chips; dried cherries and walnuts, whatever you like, just keep similar proportions to the orig. recipe. Mashing it flatter in the pan just after removing from the oven was a good idea someone mentioned, my bars did not fall apart at all. I'll be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
Tasty, Good flavor, but mine always come out very hard and crunchy and cannot get out of pan without cracking. :-{
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Loved these! I used whole cardamom and ground (with a mortar and pestle)the seeds, that's always a stronger flavor so I reduced the cardamom to 1 teas. Other than that made as recipe directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This is so good! I made some changes: I used about 1/4 cup brown sugar, 4 tablespoons honey, 4 tablespoons (slightly salted) butter, 1/2 cup of cranberries instead of raisins (goes very well with cardamom!), 1/2 cup of walnuts, 2 cups of oats, added 1/3 cup coconut flakes, and two heaped teaspoons of ground cardamom. I let it cool for one hour before cutting and the result was perfect. Oh, I did use the tip of another user to press it really hard before baking and also right after baking. I think this made the cutting after cooling much easier. They didn't fall apart at all. Thanks for the basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
OMGoodness! are these goooood. I just tried one as soon as they were ready and am dying to have another. I'll have to be strong.....Followed the recipe except for reducing the butter to 4 tbsp with success (just couldn't bring myself to go all the way :) and sugar to 1/4 c. Also used dried cranberries and toasted cashews. They were a little brown at 30 minutes so will bake 20 minutes next time. I need to have just one more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I only made half a recipe in a loaf pan to see if I liked the flavor combination... they haven't cooled completely yet so haven't tasted any but the combination of brown sugar/butter/honey/cardamom smelled absolutely wonderful while baking. I compressed the bars again when I took them out of the oven, and by cooling COMPLETELY I'm anxious to see if that eliminates the crumbling problem that other reviewers have reported. Later...yes, they did come out of the pan and cut in bars perfectly. I didn't use the foil either, just sprayed the glass pan very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Good flavor. Substituted pecans for the walnuts. The bars didn't hold together so I'd probably cook it a little longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Smells and tasts great! Need to pack it really good. I think this would be a great snack for in the car or at a party. SOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAGAMOI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Who knew you could make your own granola bars?? I was afraid I'd let the butter/sugar/honey boil a bit too long, but they came out perfectly. I did use the tin foil (saturated with cooking spray). The bars sliced up nicely with minimal crumbling. I love the peppery taste of cardamom, but this was a bit much and needs to be cut back to 1 tsp. I can't wait to try this again as there is so much you can change up - the fruit, the nuts, the spice, adding chocolate morsels etc. I love recipes like this that inspire my creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States