Cardamom Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
Tasty, Good flavor, but mine always come out very hard and crunchy and cannot get out of pan without cracking. :-{
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Smells and tasts great! Need to pack it really good. I think this would be a great snack for in the car or at a party. SOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAGAMOI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I really liked these. I did cut back on the butter by one tablespoon because I wanted them to be a little lower in fat. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because they were a little too sweet. I would cut down on the brown sugar a little next time but keep the honey because it helps it stick together. When these first come out of the oven they are soft and fall apart easily. I let them cool for about 2 hours and then cut then with a large, sharp knife on a cutting board and it worked perfectly. Oh, I used dried cranberries instead of raisins. I don't like raisins and cranberries seem to match better with cardamom anyway. I really love the flavor of these- you have to try these if you love cardamom! They are so simple to prepare too and took only a few minutes to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Good flavor. Substituted pecans for the walnuts. The bars didn't hold together so I'd probably cook it a little longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I thought these were pretty good. I would make them again, but with less cardamom. Apparently, I don't LOVE cardamom, because I thought the flavor was too much. I didn't personally think they were too sweet, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Very nice, although mine crumbled to granola when I tried cut them. I love the flavors though, and it'll work just fine as cereal. I didn't really measure, so I probably didn't use enough honey. I did cut back on the sugar and it wasn't too too sweet. There is a lot of cardamom; I'll use less next time just because it's a strong flavor and I probably won't be able to get bf to eat it as is. He doesn't seem to be a huge fan of cardamom. Otherwise, it's perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I only made half a recipe in a loaf pan to see if I liked the flavor combination... they haven't cooled completely yet so haven't tasted any but the combination of brown sugar/butter/honey/cardamom smelled absolutely wonderful while baking. I compressed the bars again when I took them out of the oven, and by cooling COMPLETELY I'm anxious to see if that eliminates the crumbling problem that other reviewers have reported. Later...yes, they did come out of the pan and cut in bars perfectly. I didn't use the foil either, just sprayed the glass pan very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Fragrant, delicious, easy. Just the right amount of cardamom for me. I've tried variations with great success -- dried mangoes and coconut and banana chips; dried cherries and walnuts, whatever you like, just keep similar proportions to the orig. recipe. Mashing it flatter in the pan just after removing from the oven was a good idea someone mentioned, my bars did not fall apart at all. I'll be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Loved these! I used whole cardamom and ground (with a mortar and pestle)the seeds, that's always a stronger flavor so I reduced the cardamom to 1 teas. Other than that made as recipe directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This recipe was good. I think I added some butter and baking powder. I like the cardamom, and it was not as strong as I thought it would be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States