Cardamom Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This is so good! I made some changes: I used about 1/4 cup brown sugar, 4 tablespoons honey, 4 tablespoons (slightly salted) butter, 1/2 cup of cranberries instead of raisins (goes very well with cardamom!), 1/2 cup of walnuts, 2 cups of oats, added 1/3 cup coconut flakes, and two heaped teaspoons of ground cardamom. I let it cool for one hour before cutting and the result was perfect. Oh, I did use the tip of another user to press it really hard before baking and also right after baking. I think this made the cutting after cooling much easier. They didn't fall apart at all. Thanks for the basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I use cinnamon instead of cardomon.. and I always cut back on the butter and add some extra carb (usually coconut) but I love these! and i sub in almonds for the nut of choice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
MY bars fell apart...Not sure if I need to pack them harder in the pan or cook longer. I would try both next time. Cardamon was a little too much for me, I would use less next time...though it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be while I was making this. Over all they were ok...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
absolutely LOVED this! the bars were chewy, just the way I like my granola bars, and all the flavors melded together so nicely. It really is a dangerous recipe, because I could make them all the time! In fact, I think I will!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Dangerous recipe---because you can't stop eating them! The cardamom is different, but certainly not too strong. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This recipe was good. I think I added some butter and baking powder. I like the cardamom, and it was not as strong as I thought it would be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Loved these! I used whole cardamom and ground (with a mortar and pestle)the seeds, that's always a stronger flavor so I reduced the cardamom to 1 teas. Other than that made as recipe directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Fragrant, delicious, easy. Just the right amount of cardamom for me. I've tried variations with great success -- dried mangoes and coconut and banana chips; dried cherries and walnuts, whatever you like, just keep similar proportions to the orig. recipe. Mashing it flatter in the pan just after removing from the oven was a good idea someone mentioned, my bars did not fall apart at all. I'll be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I only made half a recipe in a loaf pan to see if I liked the flavor combination... they haven't cooled completely yet so haven't tasted any but the combination of brown sugar/butter/honey/cardamom smelled absolutely wonderful while baking. I compressed the bars again when I took them out of the oven, and by cooling COMPLETELY I'm anxious to see if that eliminates the crumbling problem that other reviewers have reported. Later...yes, they did come out of the pan and cut in bars perfectly. I didn't use the foil either, just sprayed the glass pan very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Very nice, although mine crumbled to granola when I tried cut them. I love the flavors though, and it'll work just fine as cereal. I didn't really measure, so I probably didn't use enough honey. I did cut back on the sugar and it wasn't too too sweet. There is a lot of cardamom; I'll use less next time just because it's a strong flavor and I probably won't be able to get bf to eat it as is. He doesn't seem to be a huge fan of cardamom. Otherwise, it's perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States