Cardamom Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Reduced sugar to 1/4 cup, used only 2 tbsp butter and added 4 tbsp applesauce. The flavour was very good but despite pressing it as flat as I could into the pan it was still fairly crumbly and a bit dry (thought that part may have been because of my playing around with the fat content). I baked for 27 minutes but would probably remove even earlier next time. I will make again but try to think of other changes to make it hold together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Followed the recipe to a T and although they are tasty, they all FELL APART when I tried to cut them. Nice granola snack mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe. I have had a lot of fun adding different things to this. So far I prefer a cup of mixed dried fruits and chopped peanuts. I began making these for my kids to eat before sporting events, but ended up having my hubby ask for more as he enjoyed them as a quick hearty breakfast before work. I even added chocolate chips by accident once not thinking about what would happen when I added the hot mixture...what a yummy accident that was! The kids liked the treat of "chocolate bars" as stirring in the heated mix melted all the chips promptly making a very yummy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcjj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
These are quite good, maybe a little too much Cardamom for me. Followed the recipe exactly, although used wax paper to line the pan as I had no foil. NO problems at all with any sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
OMGoodness! are these goooood. I just tried one as soon as they were ready and am dying to have another. I'll have to be strong.....Followed the recipe except for reducing the butter to 4 tbsp with success (just couldn't bring myself to go all the way :) and sugar to 1/4 c. Also used dried cranberries and toasted cashews. They were a little brown at 30 minutes so will bake 20 minutes next time. I need to have just one more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I changed this review from a 4 to 5 stars; at first taste, after I put them in the fridge to cool was all-right, but a bit too hard and crumbly. After I wrapped in foil and left on the counter they softened up to a nice and chewy granola bar. My son loved them; I added dates, pecans, raisins and mini marshmallows! YUM!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
my hubby and I love these....our kids however are not old enough to be open to trying a new kind of granola bar...anyway...we will make these again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvie TorokNagy Murray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I whipped these up in no time and served them to some friends and family - all of them gave rave reviews. Personally I would cut the cardamom in half and perhaps add some cinnamon. I recommend waiting to cut the bars. They were prone to fall apart even after being out of the oven cooling for 15 minutes. So I packed them in with the foil from the pan to keep them together and cut them an hour later. Only one fell apart. I subbed pecans for walnuts. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
These bars were really, really good. I was skeptical about the cardamom at first and only added 1 tsp, but it does give a nice flavor. Next time I will add the full amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I brought this to work today & everyone loved it. I only had about a half T of honey so I used 1/2 T Molasses & 2 T Sugar Free Syrup. A bit less Cardamom. Toasted Walnuts, Slivered Almonds & Sunflower seeds. Took it out at 23 minutes because I felt like the sunflower seeds were starting to get too dark. Delish! It ended up Granola, but everyone was very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States