Cardamom Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I love these cookies. I have just made them for the second time. The dough was sticky so I used a small scoop to put them on the parchment paper and then slightly wetted my fingers to flatten them. I chilled the dough in the refrig. in between batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I had no lemon, so orange zest it was and no almonds, so walnuts were substituted. They turned out to be a considerably different type of cookie, but nonetheless a tasty spice cookie. Will make again and take the advice of other users to use the cookie as pie crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Delicious cookies. I used orange zest, since I did not have a lemon and liked the way it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
For those of you allergic to wheat & gluten, I made these wonderful cookies with a combo of sorghum, rice & coconut flour. I'm also allergic to almonds so used hazelnuts instead. Added extra cardamom, extra lemon zest & a sprinkle of anise seed. Even used Earth Balance vegan butter. And they came out light, flaky and absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
The recipe turns out great after a few adjustments. I increased the cardamom to 1.5 tspn, the cinamon to 1/2 tspn, and lemon peel to 1/2 tspn. I don't like cookies too sweet, so I reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup to let the spice flavour come out. I also found the dough too sticky too roll, so I made balls and flattened them with my hand - note that this will decrease the yield to 1.5 dozen. I sprinkled pecans on top, too, and am enjoying the cookies very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Cookies are very good but this recipe needed lots of tweaking. I used 1/2 tsp cardamom and 1/4 tsp cinnamon and used orange zest in place of the lemon. I did not add the milk as the dough was already too sticky. It was far too sticky to work with so I rolled in a log in plastic wrap and chilled in the freezer then sliced the log to make the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
These are a nice textured cookies, but need way more spice. I used 2 tsp of cardamom and 1 of cinnamon. Also tried a batch with dried cranberries added and they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by danube66
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
These cookies are excellent! Based on prior reviews, i doubled the cardamom, adn added more cinnamon. Also, instead of lemon, i used orange peel, and insted of milk, orange juice. I rolled the dough in a log, put it in the fridge for an hour, then sliced the cookies, and baked at 375 degrees for 8 minutes, and they came out pefect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danube66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I made these intending to take them to work but forgot to do so. Bf wasn't impressed but he doesn't like cardamom. I forgot about sprinkling sugar on top; I should have done so, as these cookies are not that sweet. I added a bit more cardamom and the flavor is not very strong at all. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States