Cardamom Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2000
Great, I got 1st place in our county fair with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2001
I absolutely loved this cookie. I found the dough a little sticky to work with and you must be very careful with the cooking time as it cooks very quickly. I think this is a cookie that adults would probably enjoy more than kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
this is so tasty when you use it as apple pie pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
For years, my husband was looking for the "right" cardamom cookie...and we found it in this recipe!! It's by far the best spice cookie I have ever tried! It's flaky and light. Just perfect! I have also used this for Pecan Pie and Pumpkin Pie crust.(I bake the crust at 350 for about 5 min before adding the filling; then put foil strips around the crimped edges of the crust. Take the foil off 5 min. before the pies come out of the oven, they're beautiful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Pretty good cookie. Everyone seemed to like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Soft, delicious. Don't cook these too long or you lose that lovely texture. They're great with raisins or dates and with extra cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Pretty good cookies, can't taste much cardamom flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Dough is too sticky to roll but cookies turn out fine the "regular" way. Unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
The dough was too sticky to roll so i just spooned them out and flattened each one individually. I left out the almonds, so perhaps that is why. I made them once with double the cardamom and still thought it was too subtle, so made them with triple. Very pleasant cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
On my second go round with these cookies, my opinion of them has risen considerably. Still didn't use the zest, still didn't dust cookies (I think they're sweet enough as-is). Did however use butter instead of my usual low fat margarine this time. Used too much butter, in fact, closer to a half cup than, so almost 2 tbsp over. The result was a cookie that wanted to be more like shortbread, which I certainly had no problems with. Doubled the cardamom this time and did a couple shakeashakes extra of cinnamon and I think these are pretty much the perfect tea cookie. A very 'adult' cookie as someone else said. Lastly, extra butter helped the stickiness in my dough SUBSTANTIALLY and I chilled in the fridge for an hour while watching TV :) Normally I reserve 3 stars for recipes that were fine but not something I'd make again--this time it's just due to the number of changes I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States